Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

A Man for All Seasons Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Adapted by [[Performer~P82352~Robert Bolt~robertbolt]] and [[Performer~P76621~Constance Willis~constancewillis]] from Bolt's hit stage play, A Man for All Seasons stars [[Performer~P64000~Paul Scofield~paulscofield]], triumphantly repeating his stage role as Sir Thomas More. The crux of the film is the staunchly Catholic More's refusal to acknowledge King Henry VIII ([[Performer~P111051~Robert Shaw~robertshaw]])'s break from the church to divorce his first wife and marry Anne Boleyn (an unbilled [[Performer~P59206~Vanessa Redgrave~vanessaredgrave]]). Sir Thomas willingly goes to the chopping block rather than sacrifice his ideals. Director [[Performer~P117986~Fred Zinnemann~fredzinnemann]] retains the play's verbosity without sacrificing the film's strong sense of visuals. The impeccably chosen cast includes [[Performer~P32374~Wendy Hiller~wendyhiller]] as Sir Thomas' likably contentious wife Alice, [[Performer~P34099~John Hurt~johnhurt]] as the deceitful Richard Rich (More's put-downs of this despicable character provide some of the film's biggest laughs), [[Performer~P116368~Orson Welles~orsonwelles]] as a dour Cardinal Woolsey, [[Performer~P47688~Leo McKern~leomckern]] as the ambitious Thomas Cromwell, and [[Performer~P78084~Susannah York~susannahyork]] as More's daughter Margaret. The "Common Man," an important bridging-the-scenes character in the original play, is removed from the film version, which does just fine without him. A Man for All Seasons won six Oscars, including Best Picture, Best Director, and Best Actor, as well as seven British Film Academy awards. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:December 12, 1966

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Joan Bridge Best Color Costume Design 1966 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Ted Moore Best Color Cinematography 1966 Winner
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Ted Moore Best Cinematography for Color [British] 1967 Winner
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Fred Zinnemann Best Director 1966 Winner
National Board of Review Fred Zinnemann Best Director 1966 Winner
Directors Guild of America Fred Zinnemann Best Director 1966 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Fred Zinnemann Best Director 1966 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Fred Zinnemann Best Picture 1966 Winner
New York Film Critics Circle Fred Zinnemann Best Director 1966 Winner
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Fred Zinnemann Best British Film 1967 Winner
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Fred Zinnemann Best Film - Any Source 1967 Winner
National Board of Review Robert Shaw Best Supporting Actor 1966 Winner
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Robert Shaw Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture 1966 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Robert Shaw Best Supporting Actor 1966 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Robert Bolt Best Screenplay 1966 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Robert Bolt Best Adapted Screenplay 1966 Winner
New York Film Critics Circle Robert Bolt Best Screenplay 1966 Winner
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Robert Bolt Best Screenplay for a British Film 1967 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Wendy Hiller Best Supporting Actress 1966 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Paul Scofield Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Drama 1966 Winner
National Board of Review Paul Scofield Best Actor 1966 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Paul Scofield Best Actor 1966 Winner
New York Film Critics Circle Paul Scofield Best Actor 1966 Winner
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Paul Scofield Best British Actor 1967 Winner

Cast

Paul Scofield
as Thomas More
Wendy Hiller
as Alice More
Leo McKern
as Thomas Cromwell
Robert Shaw
as Henry VIII
Orson Welles
as Cardinal Wolsey
Susannah York
as Margaret More
Nigel Davenport
as Duke of Norfolk
John Hurt
as Richard Rich
Corin Redgrave
as William Roper
Colin Blakely
as Matthew
Yootha Joyce
as Averil Machin
Paul Hardwick
as Courtier
Martin Boddey
as Governor of Tower
Vanessa Redgrave
as Anne Boleyn
Anthony Nicholls
as King's Representative
Michael Latimer
as Norfolk's Aide
John Nettleton
as Jailer
Philip Brack
as Captain of Guard
Thomas Heathcote
as Boatman
Eira Heath
as Matthew's wife
Jack Gwyllim
as Chief Justice
Molly Urquhart
as Maid

Crew

Fred Zinnemann
Director
Fred Zinnemann
Producer
Robert Bolt
Screenwriter
Robert Bolt
Play Author
Constance Willis
Screenwriter
Ted Moore
Cinematographer
Georges Delerue
Composer (Music Score)
Georges Delerue
Musical Direction/Supervision
Terence Marsh
Production Designer
Josie MacAvin
Set Designer
Joan Bridge
Costume Designer
Elizabeth Haffenden
Costume Designer
Eric Allwright
Makeup
Advertisement