Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Mamma Mia! Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Longing to discover the identity of her true father before she exchanges her wedding vows, the daughter of a once-rebellious single mother secretly invites a trio of paternal candidates to her upcoming wedding in this feature adaptation of the beloved stage musical. Independent-minded single mother Donna ([[Performer~P68676~Meryl Streep~merylstreep]]) has always done her best to raise her spirited daughter, Sophie ([[Performer~P384545~Amanda Seyfried~amandaseyfried]]), while simultaneously running a successful hotel on a small Greek island, but now the time has come for this hardworking mom to finally let go. In just a few days, Sophie will be married, and Donna will stand by bittersweetly as her little girl takes flight. Of course, Donna's lifelong friends Rosie ([[Performer~P74515~Julie Walters~juliewalters]]) and Tanya ([[Performer~P3796~Christine Baranski~christinebaranski]]) will both be present at the wedding, but unbeknownst to the mother, Sophie has furtively invited three very special guests of her own. When Sophie walks down the aisle on that fateful day, she wants her father to hand her off. The only problem is that Donna has never revealed the true identity of Sophie's father, leaving the resourceful future bride to narrow the list down to three potential candidates. Now, as three key figures from Donna's past return to the picturesque Mediterranean shores they all walked 20 years prior, one beautiful bride will discover the secret of her past while one lonely mother finds out that it's never too late for a little romance. [[Performer~P455991~Phyllida Lloyd~phyllidalloyd]], director of both the original London sensation as well as the hit Broadway incarnation, makes her feature directorial debut with this big-screen version of the beloved musical featuring 22 classic [[Performer~P24~ABBA~abba]] hits. [[Performer~P8836~Pierce Brosnan~piercebrosnan]], [[Performer~P23590~Colin Firth~colinfirth]], [[Performer~P66068~Stellan Skarsgård~stellanskarsgård]], and [[Performer~P303046~Dominic Cooper~dominiccooper]] co-star. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:July 18, 2008

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Judy Craymer Carl Foreman Award 2008 Nominee
American Cinema Editors Guild Lesley Walker Best Edited Feature - Comedy or Musical 2008 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Benny Andersson Best Music 2008 Nominee
Women Film Critics Circle Meryl Streep Best Comedic Actress 2008 Winner
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Meryl Streep Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 2008 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Björn Ulvaeus Best Music 2008 Nominee
Costume Guild Awards Ann Roth Best Art Direction in a Contemporary Film 2008 Nominee

Cast

Meryl Streep
as Donna
Pierce Brosnan
as Sam
Colin Firth
as Harry
Stellan Skarsgård
as Bill
Julie Walters
as Rosie
Dominic Cooper
as Sky
Amanda Seyfried
as Sophie
Christine Baranski
as Tanya

Crew

Phyllida Lloyd
Director
Judy Craymer
Producer
Gary Goetzman
Producer
Haris Zambarloukos
Cinematographer
Becky Bentham
Musical Direction/Supervision
Stig Anderson
Composer (Music Score)
Benny Andersson
Composer (Music Score)
Martin Lowe
Musical Direction/Supervision
Benny Andersson
Songwriter
Björn Ulvaeus
Composer (Music Score)
Björn Ulvaeus
Songwriter
Lesley Walker
Editor
Maria Djurkovic
Production Designer
Dean Clegg
Production Designer
Rebecca Holmes
Production Designer
Nick Palmer
Supervising Art Director
Dean Clegg
Art Director
Rebecca Holmes
Art Director
Tom Hanks
Executive Producer
Benny Andersson
Executive Producer
Mark Huffam
Executive Producer
Rita Wilson
Executive Producer
Björn Ulvaeus
Executive Producer
Ann Roth
Costume Designer
Anthony Van Laast
Choreography
Priscilla John
Casting
Ellen Lewis
Casting
Advertisement