Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Magnum Force Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The second [[Feature~V257967~Dirty Harry~dirtyharry[filmseries]]] movie, Magnum Force concerns itself with a vigilante group that has targeted notorious scofflaws for extermination. When a prominent gang boss or drug-runner is set free by the airheaded liberal courts, a covert group of "avengers" is soon on hand to blow the miscreant to bits. While detective Dirty Harry Callahan ([[Performer~P88601~Clint Eastwood~clinteastwood]]) is no great friend of civil liberties, he is dead set against wholesale murder as a solution to legal loopholes. Discovering that all the killings have been committed by the same weapon, Callahan reaches the conclusion that his on-the-edge partner, Charlie McCoy ([[Performer~P62392~Mitchell Ryan~mitchellryan]]), is responsible. But the answer is less transparent than that, as Harry learns almost at the cost of his own life. Co-scripted by [[Performer~P102818~John Milius~johnmilius]] and [[Performer~P85067~Michael Cimino~michaelcimino]], Magnum Force was followed by three additional [[Feature~V257967~Dirty Harry~dirtyharry[filmseries]]] installments: [[Feature~V15855~The Enforcer~theenforcer]] (1976), Sudden Impact (1983) and The Dead Pool (1988). ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Clint Eastwood
as Harry Callahan
Hal Holbrook
as Lieutenant Briggs
Mitchell Ryan
as Charlie McCoy
Felton Perry
as Early Smith
David Soul
as Davis
Robert Urich
as Grimes
Clifford A. Pellow
as Guzman
Albert Popwell
as Pimp
Richard Devon
as Ricca
Suzanne Somers
as Pool Girl (uncredited)
Tim Matheson
as Sweet
Tony Giorgio
as Palancio
Jack Kosslyn
as Walter
John Mitchum
as DiGorgio
Kip Niven
as Astrachan
Adele Yoshioka
as Sunny
Margaret Avery
as Prostitute

Crew

Ted Post
Director
John Milius
Screen Story
John Milius
Screenwriter
Michael Cimino
Screenwriter
Frank Stanley
Cinematographer
Lalo Schifrin
Composer (Music Score)
Ferris Webster
Editor
John Lamphear
Set Designer
Wes McAfee
First Assistant Director
Buddy Van Horn
Second Unit Director
Advertisement