Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Lovers and Other Strangers Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Lovers and Other Strangers became a "sleeper" hit, based on a play by [[Performer~P70084~Renée Taylor~renéetaylor]] and [[Performer~P7154~Joseph Bologna~josephbologna]]. The story is essentially a series of vignettes and anecdotes, unified by an impending marriage. Father of the bride Hal ([[Performer~P78166~Gig Young~gigyoung]]) has problems with his long-suffering mistress, Cathy ([[Performer~P34775~Anne Jackson~annejackson]]), who spends much of the film sitting on the toilet, crying her eyes out; Wilma ([[Performer~P48147~Anne Meara~annemeara]]), the bride's sex-starved sister, can't wrest her husband, Johnny ([[Performer~P29073~Harry Guardino~harryguardino]]), away from the TV; and Frank ([[Performer~P11706~Richard S. Castellano~richardscastellano]]), as the groom's father, slips comfortably into Bartlett's Familiar Quotations with his oft-repeated query "So what's the story?" Twelfth-billed [[Performer~P96996~Diane Keaton~dianekeaton]] makes her film debut as a garrulous wedding guest. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Arthur James Best Song 1970 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Fred Karlin Best Song 1970 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Joseph Bologna Best Adapted Screenplay 1970 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Renée Taylor Best Adapted Screenplay 1970 Nominee

Cast

Bea Arthur
as Bea
Bonnie Bedelia
as Susan
Michael Brandon
as Mike
Harry Guardino
as Johnny
Marian Hailey
as Brenda
Joseph Hindy
as Richie
Anne Jackson
as Cathy
Diane Keaton
as Joan
Cloris Leachman
as Bernice
Anne Meara
as Wilma
Gig Young
as Hal
Anthony Holland
as Donaldson
Bob Kaliban
as Hotel Clerk
Amy Stiller
as Flower Girl
Mort Marshall
as Father Gregory
Bob Dishy
as Jerry

Crew

Renée Taylor
Play Author
Renée Taylor
Screenwriter
Joseph Bologna
Play Author
Joseph Bologna
Screenwriter
Arthur James
Songwriter
Fred Karlin
Composer (Music Score)
David Bretherton
Editor
Albert Wolsky
Costume Designer
James Shields
Sound/Sound Designer
Advertisement