Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Love! Valour! Compassion! Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Eight friends spend three weekends in the country over the course of a summer as they explore their sometimes conflicting attitudes about love, sex, friendship, life, and death in this screen adaptation of [[Performer~P493586~Terrence McNally~terrencemcnally]]'s award-winning play. Gregory Mitchell ([[Performer~P222957~Stephen Bogardus~stephenbogardus]]) is a successful choreographer whose skills as a dancer have begun to decay as he slips into middle age. He has a handsome summer home in Upstate New York which he shares with his lover Bobby Brahms ([[Performer~P223276~Justin Kirk~justinkirk]]). Gregory and Bobby often invite several of their friends to join them for holiday weekends: Perry Sellars ([[Performer~P67252~Stephen Spinella~stephenspinella]]) and Arthur Rape ([[Performer~P196281~John Benjamin Hickey~johnbenjaminhickey]]) are a pair of yuppies (complete with a Volvo) who have been a couple for 14 years (as Perry jokes, "We're role models -- it's very stressful"). John Jeckyll ([[Performer~P27281~John Glover~johnglover]]), a musician and composer with a short temper and a witheringly bitter sense of humor, arrives with his latest boyfriend, Ramon Fornos ([[Performer~P195160~Randy Becker~randybecker]]), a good-looking dancer who often suffers the wrath of John's foul mood. Buzz Hauser ([[Performer~P832~Jason Alexander~jasonalexander]]) is a witty and flamboyant enthusiast of the Broadway theater who describes his greatest fear as a production of The King and I starring [[Performer~P72100~Tommy Tune~tommytune]] and [[Performer~P68342~Elaine Stritch~elainestritch]]; he's also HIV-positive, though he stubbornly refuses to discuss his condition with his friends. And John's twin brother James Jeckyll (also played by John Glover) is his brother's polar opposite, a kind and forgiving soul who is now living with AIDS. Love! Valour! Compassion! was directed by [[Performer~P45203~Joe Mantello~joemantello]], who also directed the original New York stage production; this film also reunites the show's New York cast, with the exception of [[Performer~P832~Jason Alexander~jasonalexander]], who stepped into the role created by [[Performer~P40372~Nathan Lane~nathanlane]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:January 25, 1997

Cast

Jason Alexander
as Buzz Hauser
Stephen Bogardus
as Gregory Mitchell
John Glover
as John And James Jeckyll
John Benjamin Hickey
as Arthur Rape
Justin Kirk
as Bobby Brahms
Stephen Spinella
as Perry Sellars

Crew

Joe Mantello
Director
Doug Chapin
Producer
Barry Krost
Producer
Terrence McNally
Screenwriter
Terrence McNally
Play Author
Alik Sakharov
Cinematographer
Harold Wheeler
Songwriter
Colleen Sharp
Editor
François Séguin
Production Designer
Ruth Vitale
Executive Producer
Amy Labowitz
Executive Producer
Jess Goldstein
Costume Designer
John Carrafa
Choreography
Diane Conn
Line Producer
Advertisement