Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Love and Money Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P114247~James Toback~jamestoback]] wrote and directed this typically intense and idiosyncratic satiric thriller. Byron Levin ([[Performer~P64853~Ray Sharkey~raysharkey]]) is an investment planner who has grown tired of his job and is bored by his relationship with his girlfriend Vicky ([[Performer~P128949~Susan Heldfond~susanheldfond]]). When Frederick Stockheinz ([[Performer~P38429~Klaus Kinski~klauskinski]]), an international business magnate, approaches Byron about helping him establish a new firm in a small South American nation, he gladly accepts the offer. It isn't long before Byron discovers that he's gotten involved in something far more complicated than he ever imagined. The country has rich reserves of silver, but it is also in a state of political upheaval, and Byron is dealing with dictators and fending off revolutionaries as often as he minds the bottom line. Byron also encounters Frederick's wife Catherine ([[Performer~P51588~Ornella Muti~ornellamuti]]), a beautiful woman with whom he begins having a very dangerous affair. Love and Money also features legendary director [[Performer~P115411~King Vidor~kingvidor]] in a small role as Byron's father; it was his first acting role in a film, and his last (he died nine months after the film's release). ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Cast

Ray Sharkey
as Byron Levin
Ornella Muti
as Catherine Stockheinz
Klaus Kinski
as Frederick Stockheinz
Armand Assante
as Lorenzo Prado
King Vidor
as Walter Klein
Susan Heldfond
as Vicky
William Prince
as Ambassador Paultz
Tony Sirico
as Raoul
Jacqueline Brookes
as Mrs. Paultz
Daniel Faraldo
as Hector
Terry Jastrow
as Clem Dixon
Tom McFadden
as Blair
Nastassja Kinski
Sonny Gibson
as Bodyguard
Gene Rutherford
as Hotel Waiter
Stephen Keep
as Hankland
Tony Plana
as National Guard General
Breck Costin
as Hotel Doorman

Crew

James Toback
Director
James Toback
Producer
James Toback
Screenwriter
Fred Schuler
Cinematographer
Dennis M. Hill
Editor
Bud Alper
Sound/Sound Designer
Advertisement