Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Love Affair Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The 1939 [[Performer~P20649~Irene Dunne~irenedunne]]-[[Performer~P7830~Charles Boyer~charlesboyer]] romance Love Affair, remade with [[Performer~P28204~Cary Grant~carygrant]] and [[Performer~P37896~Deborah Kerr~deborahkerr]] in 1957 as [[Feature~V1134~An Affair to Remember~anaffairtoremember]], became a vehicle for real-life couple [[Performer~P81105~Warren Beatty~warrenbeatty]] and [[Performer~P5346~Annette Bening~annettebening]] in this 1994 rendition. The well-worn story remains the same, as a man and a woman, both engaged to other people, fall madly in love while traveling, indulge in a brief but intense affair, then agree to part and sort out their feelings. They are to meet again at the top of the Empire State Building if their feelings persist, but a series of unfortunate circumstances threatens to keep the lovers apart. Despite polished visuals and a time-tested narrative, this variation suffers in comparison to its two predecessors, not to mention the previous year's [[Feature~V45166~Sleepless in Seattle~sleeplessinseattle]], which had drawn on [[Feature~V1134~An Affair to Remember~anaffairtoremember]] for several of its most memorable sequences. It does features [[Performer~P31873~Katherine Hepburn~katharinehepburn]]'s first film appearance in 13 years. ~ Judd Blaise, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
American Society of Cinematographers Conrad L. Hall Best Cinematography 1994 Nominee

Cast

Warren Beatty
as Mike Gambril
Annette Bening
as Terry McKay
Katharine Hepburn
as Ginny
Garry Shandling
as Kip DeMay
Chloe Webb
as Tina Wilson
Pierce Brosnan
as Ken Allen
Kate Capshaw
as Lynn Weaver
Paul Mazursky
as Herb Stillman
Brenda Vaccaro
as Nora Stillman
Glenn Shadix
as Anthony Rotundo
Barry Miller
as Robert Crosley
Harold Ramis
as Sheldon Blumenthal
Cylk Cozart
as Dr. Punch
Ed McMahon
as Himself
Elya Baskin
as Ship Captain
Gary McGurk
as Waiter
Rosalind Chao
as Lee
Jeffrey Nordling
as Lou
Wendie Jo Sperber
as Helen
Frank Campanella
as Elevator Operator
Irene Olga Lopez
as Annie
Lisa Edelstein
as Assistant at Studio
Robert Levine
as Dr. Kaplan
Oleg Vidov
as Russian Businessman
Boris Krutonog
as Second Officer
John Tesh
as Himself
Mary Hart
as Herself
Carey Lowell
as Martha
Dan Castellaneta
as Phil
Rebecca Miller
as Receptionist
Ray Charles
as Himself
Helena Carroll
as Dorothy
Herman Sinitzyn
as Russian Waiter
James Pyduck
as Bell Captain
John Hostetter
as Ben
Linda Wallem
as Lorraine
Manu Tupou
as Rau
Marek Probosz
as Russian Sailor
Meagen Fay
as SSA Flight Attendant
Michael Fischetti
as Street Man
Ray Girardin
as Wally Tripp
Rosalind Allen
as Qantas Flight Attendant
Savely Kramarov
as Cable Officer
Taylor Dayne
as Marissa
Tom Signorelli
as Cab Driver

Crew

Glenn Gordon Caron
Director
Glenn Gordon Caron
Producer
Warren Beatty
Producer
Warren Beatty
Screenwriter
Glenn Gordon Caron
Screenwriter
Robert Towne
Screenwriter
Conrad L. Hall
Cinematographer
Ennio Morricone
Composer (Music Score)
Jim Tannenbaum
Musical Direction/Supervision
Ferdinando Scarfiotti
Production Designer
Ed Richardson
Art Director
Mark Ovitz
Associate Producer
Andrew Z. Davis
Executive Producer
Daniel May
Set Designer
James Murakami
Set Designer
Al Manzer
Set Designer
Milena Canonero
Costume Designer
John Richardson
Special Effects
Jimmy Simons
First Assistant Director
Marion Dougherty
Casting
Mildred Cram
Short Story Author
Zelda Barron
Consulting Producer
Advertisement