Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Lost in the Stars Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Lost in the Stars was an American Film Theatre adaptation of the musical play by [[Performer~P79634~Maxwell Anderson~maxwellanderson]] and [[Performer~P116248~Kurt Weill~kurtweill]]--which in turn was based on the Alain Paton novel Cry the Beloved Country. [[Performer~P56260~Brock Peters~brockpeters]] portrays a South African minister who goes to the Big City to locate his son [[Performer~P112406~Raymond St. Jacques~raymondstjacques]], who is now a criminal in the eyes of the white rulers. The minister forges a curious, foredoomed friendship with a white farmer ([[Performer~P61125~Paul Rogers~paulrogers]]). Lost in the Stars has sometimes been accused of blunting the edge of Paton's angry study of the cruelties of Apartheid; fans of musical theatre will be more politely inclined to this loving filmization of the Broadway play. On its own, [[Feature~V11703~Cry the Beloved Country~crythebelovedcountry]] was previously filmed in 1951, with [[Performer~P41348~Canada Lee~canadalee]], [[Performer~P106725~Sidney Poitier~sidneypoitier]] and [[Performer~P11355~Charles Carson~charlescarson]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Harvey Jason
as Arthur Jarvis
Ivor Barry
as Carmichael
Ji-Tu Cumbuka
as Johannes
John Hawker
as Paulus
Melba Moore
as Irina
Michael-James Wixted
as Edward Jarvis
Myrna White
as Linda
Paulene Myers
as Grace
William Glover
as Eland
Brock Peters
as Stephen Kumalo
John Holland
as Van Jarsdale
Paula Kelly
as Rose
Paul Rogers
as James Jarvis
Raymond St. Jacques
as John Kumalo
Clifton Davis
as Absalom

Crew

Daniel Mann
Director
Ely Landau
Producer
Henry T. Weinstein
Producer
Maxwell Anderson
Play Author
Alan Paton
Book Author
Maxwell Anderson
From Musical by
Alex North
Musical Direction/Supervision
Kurt Weill
Featured Music
Jack Martin Smith
Art Director
Paula Kelly
Choreography
Advertisement