Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Lost in Space Details


This $90 million science fiction adventure is adapted from the television series, created by Irwin Allen, which originally ran on CBS from 1965 to 1968. The original series employed a Irwin Allen in outer space premise; sent to colonize a planet in the Alpha Centauri system, the Robinson family was thrown off course by a stowaway and was left wandering from planet to planet (and changing along the way from a black-and-white series to a color series). The 1998 remake is set in the year 2058, when the United Global Space Force sends Professor John Robinson (William Hurt) and family -- wife Maureen (Mimi Rogers), daughter Judy (Heather Graham), teen Penny (Lacey Chabert), and 10-year-old Will (Jack Johnson) -- on a promotional space jaunt to herald the "offshore" future for the human race (now saddled with eco problems on Earth). Major Don West (Matt LeBlanc), more accustomed to fighting menacing Global Sedition forces, is reluctant to sign on as the Jupiter II pilot but quickly changes his mind after he gets a good look at Judy in her fetish-fashioned space togs. Space spy Dr. Smith (Gary Oldman), hired to sabotage the mission, programs in problems but winds up aboard the craft unconscious. Once awake, he summons the Robinsons from suspended animation, and they save the ship just in time, passing through hyperspace to arrive near an Earth ship where they encounter space-pet Blawp and hordes of teethy spiders. A spider bite makes the villainous Smith mutate, one of some 750 special effects, from animatronics (Jim Henson Creature Shop) to CGI, and other adventures await throughout the galaxy. Cameos include actors from the original series, including June Lockhart and Robot Voice Dick Tufeld. In a curious coincidence, the TV series took place in the future of 1997, the year this movie was produced. ~ Bhob Stewart, Rovi

  • Release date:April 3, 1998


William Hurt
as John Robinson
Mimi Rogers
as Maureen Robinson
Heather Graham
as Judy Robinson
Lacey Chabert
as Penny Robinson
Gary Oldman
as Dr. Zachary Smith
Matt LeBlanc
as Don West
Jared Harris
as Older Will
Lennie James
as Jeb Walker
Marta Kristen
as Reporter No. 1
June Lockhart
as Principal
Edward Fox
as Business Man
Adam Sims
as Lab Technician
Angela Cartwright
as Reporter No. 2
Dick Tufeld
as Robot


Stephen Hopkins
Stephen Hopkins
Mark W. Koch
Akiva Goldsman
Carla Fry
Akiva Goldsman
Peter Levy
Bruce Broughton
Composer (Music Score)
Ray Lovejoy
Norman Garwood
Production Designer
Keith Pain
Supervising Art Director
Tim Hampton
Kris Wiseman
Mace Neufeld
Executive Producer
Michael De Luca
Executive Producer
Robert G. Rehme
Executive Producer
Richard Saperstein
Executive Producer
Michael Ilitch, Jr.
Executive Producer
Gilly Hebden
Costume Designer
Vin Burnham
Costume Designer
Simon Kaye
Sound/Sound Designer
Chris Carreras
First Assistant Director
Mary Selway
Mike Fenton
Allison Cowitt
Angus Bickerton
Special Effects Supervisor