Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Lords of Dogtown Details


The true story of the kids who created modern skateboard culture is recreated in this drama. In the early '70s, skateboards were seen as a fad of the 1960s that had all but died out, but in a rough-and-tumble Venice, CA community known as "Dogtown," that was about to change. [[Performer~P1234~Tony Alva~tonyalva]] ([[Performer~P357944~Victor Rasuk~victorrasuk]]), [[Performer~P55996~Stacy Peralta~stacyperalta]] ([[Performer~P265432~John Robinson~johnrobinson]]), and [[Performer~P394579~Jay Adams~jayadams]] ([[Performer~P239003~Emile Hirsch~emilehirsch]]) were three guys who liked to surf the rugged beaches around Venice and hung out at the Zephyr Surf Shop, a store run by [[Performer~P394588~Skip Engblom~skipengblom]] ([[Performer~P268296~Heath Ledger~heathledger]]) that stocked gear for adventurous surfers and skateboarders. With the advent of new urethane wheels that connected with concrete in a way old metal and rubber wheels could not, Tony, Stacy, and Jay began exploring ways to translate radical surf style to skateboarding, and the guys invented a new way to skate inside the smooth, round surfaces of empty pools, employing vertical moves and edge flips that added a new and dramatic spin to skating. It didn't take long for word to spread about the wild new style of the Z-Boys, and they quickly became local celebrities, and later nationwide skating stars, though sudden fame took its toll on these young men. The true story of Lords of Dogtown was previously the basis of the acclaimed documentary [[Feature~V239388~Dogtown and Z-Boys~dogtownandzboys]], directed by former Z-Boy [[Performer~P55996~Stacy Peralta~stacyperalta]], who like [[Performer~P1234~Tony Alva~tonyalva]] served as a consultant on this project. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:June 3, 2005


Emile Hirsch
as Jay Adams
Victor Rasuk
as Tony Alva
John Robinson
as Stacy Peralta
Michael Angarano
as Sid
Nikki Reed
as Kathy Alva
Heath Ledger
as Skip Engblom
Rebecca De Mornay
as Philaine
Johnny Knoxville
as Topper Burks
Bai Ling
as Punky Photographer
Eddie Cahill
as Larry Gordon
Bob Biniak
as Restaurant Manager
Sofía Vergara
as Amelia
Matt Malloy
as Contest Official
Julio Oscar Mechoso
as Mr. Alva
Elden Henson
as Billy Z
William Mapother
as Donnie
Kirk Ward
as Bill Bahne
Brian Zarate
as Montoya
Chad Fernandez
as Ryan Reef
Chelsea Hobbs
as Caroline
Cheyne Magnusson
as Jim "Red Dog" Muir
Chris Chaput
as Russ Howell
Chuck Hosack
as Irate Husband
Daniel Venegas
as Vato
Don Nguyen
as Shogo
Pablo Schreiber
as Stecyk
Paulette Ivory
as Magazine Reporter
Raphael Verela
as Topper's Bodyguard
Ray Flores
as Long Beach Announcer
Rebeca Silva
as Sid's Nurse
Reid Harper
as Lookout Boy
Rene Rivera
as Mr. Peralta
Sarah Blakely-Cartwright
as Vickie
Shea Whigham
as Dranke Landon
Skip Engblom
as Seattle Race Starter
Stacy Peralta
as TV Director
Stephanie Limb
as Peggy Oki
Benjamin Nurick
as Browser
Tony Alva
as Oregon Man at Party
Tony Hawk
as Astronaut
Travis Peterson
as Young Surfer
Mike Ogas
as Bob Biniak
Mitch Hedberg
as Urethane Wheels Guy
Ned Bellamy
as Peter Darling
Vincent Laresca
as Chino
Bill Cusack
as Del Mar Judge
Alexis Arquette
as Tranny
America Ferrera
as Thunder Monkey
Charles Napier
as Nudie
Jay Adams
as Party Guest
Joe Virzi
as Capitola Race Starter
Joel McHale
as TV Reporter
Kristian Peterson
as Wentzle Ruml
Laura Ramsey
as Gabrielle
Lucas Gasperik
as Jay Clone
Mark Kubr
as Donnie's Friend
Melonie Diaz
as Blanca


Catherine Hardwicke
John Linson
Stacy Peralta
Elliot Davis
Mark Mothersbaugh
Composer (Music Score)
Liza Richardson
Musical Direction/Supervision
Nancy Richardson
Chris Gorak
Production Designer
Seth Reed
Art Director
Ginger Sledge
Canada Gordon
Associate Producer
Beanie Barnes
Associate Producer
Kareem Elseify
Associate Producer
David Fincher
Executive Producer
Joe Drake
Executive Producer
Art Linson
Executive Producer
Scott Herbertson
Set Designer
Gene Serdena
Set Decorator
Cindy Evans
Costume Designer
Robert Eber
Sound/Sound Designer
Greg Beato
George Billinger
Camera Operator
Lance Mountain
Camera Operator
Chris Moseley
Camera Operator
Brock Little
Marc Flanagan
Brad Gerlach
Kyle Knox
Gavin Sutherland
Alvin Zalamea
Victoria Thomas
Vincent Guisetti
Foley Artist
Walter Volpatto
Color Timing
Zach Hunt
Production Assistant
Steve Reinhardt
Assistant Chief Lighting Technician
Susanna Puisto
Thom Brennan
Foley Supervisor
Thomas Spencer
Set Dresser
Tom Ostrowski
Second Second Assistant Director
Tricia Linklater
Assistant Sound Editor
Marty Bresin
Special Effects Supervisor
Lyn Matsuda Norton
Script Supervisor
Thomas Robinson Harper
Second Unit Director
Thomas Robinson Harper
Stunts Coordinator
Bradley Bemis
Location Manager
Brian Ruberg
Foley Mixer
Brian Spirnak
Production Assistant
Annie Laoparadonchai
Carl Miller
Personal Assistant
Roland N. Thai
Sound Effects Editor
John Snyder
Makeup Special Effects
Gary A. Hecker
Foley Artist
Bruce Fortune
Supervising Sound Editor
Bryce Shields
Video Assist
Bob Scifo
Matte Artist
Kyle Rochlin
Foley Mixer
Lance Brown
Supervising Sound Editor
Lars Petersen
Construction Coordinator
Lee Blasingame
First Assistant Camera
Lisa Parmet
Key Costumer
Lisa Varetakis
Foley Editor
John Stuver
ADR Editor
John Stuver
Dialogue Editor
Jon Lindsay
Camera Loader
Hans Fleischmann
First Assistant Editor
Howard London
ADR Mixer
Jaimie Trueblood
Still Photographer
Janet Stirner
Robert Stover
Set Dresser
Margaux Mackay
Visual Effects Producer
Mark McGrath
Production Assistant
Nicole Frank
Assistant Hair
Pat McLaughlin
Costumes Supervisor
Patrick Bentley
Production Assistant
Perry Dodgson
Boom Operator
Antonio Scimone
Production Assistant
Melinda Eichberg
Animal Trainer/Wrangler
Melinda Frank
Michael Steinbach
Production Secretary
Michelle Morrissey
Production Supervisor
Mike Boudreau
Set Dresser
Mike Mesirow
Cable Person
Mo Henry
Negative Cutter
Nancy Nugent
ADR Editor
Nancy Parker
Foley Artist
George Billinger
Steadicam Operator
Greg Campeau
Assistant Location Manager
Grant Samson
Gray Marshall
Visual Effects Supervisor
Cynthia Nibler
Properties Master
David Marmolejo
Assistant Location Manager
David Pearlberg
Dolly Grip
Deedra Ricketts
Extra Casting
Devon Curry
ADR Supervisor
Diana Zock
Production Coordinator
Eddie Kim
Sound Effects Editor
Fionagh Cush
Key Make-up
Gary Warshaw
Assistant Art Director