Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Longest Day Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The Longest Day is a mammoth, all-star re-creation of the D-Day invasion, personally orchestrated by [[Performer~P117829~Darryl F. Zanuck~darrylfzanuck]]. Whenever possible, the original locations were utilized, and an all-star international cast impersonates the people involved, from high-ranking officials to ordinary GIs. Each actor speaks in his or her native language with subtitles translating for the benefit of the audience (alternate "takes" were made of each scene with the foreign actors speaking English, but these were seen only during the first network telecast of the film in 1972). The stars are listed alphabetically, with the exception of [[Performer~P116130~John Wayne~johnwayne]], who as Lt. Colonel Vandervoort gets separate billing. Others in the huge cast include [[Performer~P669~Eddie Albert~eddiealbert]], [[Performer~P4132~Jean-Louis Barrault~jeanlouisbarrault]], [[Performer~P83664~Richard Burton~richardburton]], [[Performer~P9969~Red Buttons~redbuttons]], [[Performer~P10646~Sean Connery~seanconnery]], [[Performer~P24097~Henry Fonda~henryfonda]], [[Performer~P25163~Gert Frobe~gertfröbe]], [[Performer~P36548~Curt Jurgens~curdjürgens]], [[Performer~P40880~Peter Lawford~peterlawford]], [[Performer~P49738~Robert Mitchum~robertmitchum]], [[Performer~P50486~Kenneth More~kennethmore]], [[Performer~P53260~Edmond O'Brien~edmondobrien]], [[Performer~P223865~Robert Ryan~robertryan]], [[Performer~P64584~Jean Servais~jeanservais]], [[Performer~P67882~Rod Steiger~rodsteiger]] and [[Performer~P74078~Robert Wagner~robertwagner]]. [[Performer~P79734~Paul Anka~paulanka]], who wrote the film's title song, shows up as an Army private. Scenes include the Allies parachuting into Ste. Mere Englise, where the paratroopers were mowed down by German bullets; a real-life sequence wherein the German and Allied troops unwittingly march side by side in the dark of night; and a spectacular three-minute overhead shot of the troops fighting and dying in the streets of Quistreham. The last major black-and-white road-show attraction, The Longest Day made millions, enough to recoup some of the cost of 20th Century Fox's concurrently produced [[Feature~V9962~Cleopatra~cleopatra]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:September 25, 1962

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Henri Persin Best Cinematography - Black and White 1962 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Jacques Maumont Best Special Effects 1962 Winner
Directors Guild of America Andrew Marton Best Director 1962 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Pierre Levent Best Cinematography - Black and White 1962 Winner
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Walter Wottitz Best Cinematography - Black and White 1962 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Walter Wottitz Best Black and White Cinematography 1962 Winner
Directors Guild of America Bernhard Wicki Best Director 1962 Nominee
Directors Guild of America Ken Annakin Best Director 1962 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Vincent Korda Best Black and White Art Direction 1962 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Léon Barsacq Best Black and White Art Direction 1962 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Darryl F. Zanuck Best Picture 1962 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Gabriel Bechir Best Black and White Art Direction 1962 Nominee

Cast

John Wayne
as Lt. Col. Benjamin Vandervoort
Robert Mitchum
as Brig. Gen. Norman Cota
Henry Fonda
as Brig. Gen. Theodore Roosevelt
Robert Ryan
as Brig. Gen. James M. Gavin
Rod Steiger
as Destroyer Commander
Richard Todd
as Maj. John Howard
Richard Burton
as Downed R.A.F. Pilot
Robert Wagner
as U.S. Ranger
Jeffrey Hunter
as Sgt. Fuller
Mel Ferrer
as Maj. Gen. Robert Haines
Sal Mineo
as Pvt. Martini
Roddy McDowall
as Private Morris
Stuart Whitman
as Lieutenant Sheen
Eddie Albert
as Col. Tom Newton
Edmond O'Brien
as Gen. Raymond O. Barton
Red Buttons
as Pvt. John Steele
Tom Tryon
as Lieutenant Wilson
Alexander Knox
as Maj. Gen. Walter Bedell Smith
Ray Danton
as Capt. Frank
Henry W. Grace
as Gen. Dwight D. Eisenhower
Mark Damon
as Pvt. Harris
Dewey Martin
as Private Wilder
John Crawford
as Col. Coffey
Ron Randell
as Joe Williams
John Meillon
as Rear Adm. Alan G. Kirk
Kenneth More
as Capt. Colin Maud
Peter Lawford
as Lord Lovat
Leo Genn
as Gen. Parker
John Gregson
as Padre
Sean Connery
as Pvt. Flanagan
Jack Hedley
as Briefing Man
Irina Demick
as Janine Boitard
Bourvil
as Mayor of Colleville
Jean-Louis Barrault
as Father Roulland
Christian Marquand
as Comdr. Philippe Kieffer
Arletty
as Mme. Barrault
Madeleine Renaud
as Mother Superior
Georges Riviere
as Sgt. Montlaur
Jean Servais
as Adm. Jaujard
Georges Wilson
as Alexandre Renaud
Curd Jürgens
as Maj. Gen. Blumentlitt
Werner Hinz
as Marshal Erwin Rommel
Paul Hartmann
as Marshal Gerd von Rundstedt
Hans-Christian Blech
as Maj. Pluskat
Peter Van Eyck
as Lieutenant Colonel Ocker
Heinz Reincke
as Col. Josef "Pips" Priller
Kurt Meisel
as Capt. Ernst During
Leslie Phillips
as RAF Officer
Karl John
as Luftwaffe general
Heinz Spitzner
as Lt. Col. Helmuth Meyer
Howard Marion-Crawford
as Doctor
Peter Helm
as Young GI
Rainer Penkert
as Lt. Fritz Theen
Richard Wattis
as British soldier
Ruth Hausmeister
as Frau Rommel
Maurice Poli
as Jean
Michael Hinz
as Manfred Rommel
Wolfgang Buttner
as Major General Doctor Hans Speidel
Wolfgang Lukschy
as Gen. Alfred Jodl
Wolfgang Preiss
as Maj. Gen. Max Pemsel
Simon Lack
as Air Chief Marshal Sir Trafford Leigh-Mallory
Steve Forrest
as Capt. Harding
Til Kiwe
as Capt. Hellmuth Lang
Trevor Reid
as Gen. Bernard Law Montgomery
Fernand Ledoux
as Louis
Frank Finlay
as Pvt. Coke
Donald Houston
as R.A.F. Pilot
Norman Rossington
as Pvt. Clough
Michael Medwin
as Pvt. Watney
Patrick Barr
as Group Capt. Stagg
Bryan Coleman
as Ronald Callen
Dietmar Schoenherr
as Luftwaffe major
Ernst Schroeder
as Hans von Salmuth
Eugene Deckers
as Nazi Soldier
Fred Durr
as Major of the Rangers
Richard Beymer
as Pvt. Dutch Schultz
George Segal
as 1st commando up cliff
Sian Phillips
as Wren
Gert Fröbe
as Sgt. Karreklatsch

Crew

Andrew Marton
Director
Bernhard Wicki
Director
Ken Annakin
Director
Darryl F. Zanuck
Producer
Cornelius Ryan
Book Author
Cornelius Ryan
Screenwriter
David Pursall
Screenwriter
Romain Gary
Screenwriter
Jack Seddon
Screenwriter
Henri Persin
Cinematographer
Walter Wottitz
Cinematographer
Pierre Levent
Cinematographer
Guy Tabary
Cinematographer
Maurice Jarre
Composer (Music Score)
Mitch Miller
Musical Direction/Supervision
Vincent Korda
Art Director
Léon Barsacq
Art Director
Elmo Williams
Associate Producer
Gabriel Bechir
Set Designer
Jacques Maumont
Sound/Sound Designer
Augie Lohman
Special Effects
Henri Sokal
First Assistant Director
Lucie Lichtig
Continuity
Gerd Oswald
Second Unit Director
Advertisement