Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Local Hero Details


Bill Forsyth's whimsical tale of sweet-natured corporate rapacity features standout performances by Burt Lancaster and Peter Riegert. Lancaster plays Texas billionaire Felix Happer, who would rather gaze at the stars than worry about his multi-national oil company. Happer dispatches Mac MacIntyre (Peter Riegert) and Danny Oldsen (Peter Capaldi) to the small Scottish fishing village of Ferness to negotiate buying the entire town so Happer can drill for oil in the North Sea. Much to Mac's surprise, the entire town is happy to sell itself for big money, and the local innkeeper, Gordon Urquhart (Denis Lawson) -- who is also the town's accountant and mayor -- works with Mac on the negotiations. But a wrinkle appears in the deal when Ben Knox (Fulton Mackay), an old man who lives in a shack on the beach which has been owned by his family for centuries, refuses to sell. His reasons? "Who'd look after the beach then? It would go to pieces in a short manner of time." The deal stalls so seriously that Happer travels to Ferness to oversee negotiations as Mac and Danny are seduced by the charm of the Scottish town. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

  • Release date:February 17, 1983


Awarded by
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Bill Forsyth Best Director 1983 Winner
New York Film Critics Circle Bill Forsyth Best Screenplay 1983 Winner


Peter Riegert
as Maclntyre
Burt Lancaster
as Felix Happer
Fulton Mackay
as Ben
Denis Lawson
as Gordon Urquhart
Norman Chancer
as Moritz
Peter Capaldi
as Danny Oldsen
Jenny Seagrove
as Marina
Alex Norton
as Watt
Rikki Fulton
as Geddes
Christopher Rozycki
as Victor
Christopher Asante
as Rev. Macpherson
Kenny Ireland
as Skipper
Harlan Jordan
as Fountain
David Mowat
as Gideon
Willie Joss
as Sandy
Caroline Guthrie
as Pauline
John M. Jackson
as Cal
Ray Jeffries
as Andrew
Charles Kearney
as Peter
Dave Anderson
as Fraser
Sandra Voe
as Mrs. Fraser
John Gordon Sinclair
as Ricky
Jimmy Yuill
as Iain


Bill Forsyth
David Puttnam
Bill Forsyth
Chris Menges
Michael Bradsell
Roger Murray-Leach
Production Designer
Adrienne Atkinson
Production Designer
Frank Walsh
Production Designer
Richard James
Production Designer
Richard James
Art Director
Frank Walsh
Art Director
Adrienne Atkinson
Art Director
Iain Smith
Associate Producer
Louis Kramer
Sound/Sound Designer
Wally Veevers
Special Effects