Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Little Women Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P315316~Louisa May Alcott~louisamayalcott]]'s classic novel about a family of women in Civil War-era New England is again brought to the screen in this adaptation. The focus is on the March sisters, four young girls raised by their mother ([[Performer~P63158~Susan Sarandon~susansarandon]]) after their father leaves for battle as part of the Union Army. At the center is Jo March ([[Performer~P62446~Winona Ryder~winonaryder]]), an idiosyncratic would-be writer said to be based on [[Performer~P315316~Alcott~louisamayalcott]] herself, but the film also focuses on the stories of her sisters -- the more conventional Meg ([[Performer~P1245~Trini Alvarado~trinialvarado]]), the innocent Beth ([[Performer~P195650~Claire Danes~clairedanes]]), and the precocious Amy ([[Performer~P20669~Kirsten Dunst~kirstendunst]] and [[Performer~P46409~Samantha Mathis~samanthamathis]], who represent Amy at different ages.) The film spans years, following the girls' struggles with life's challenges and illustrating how their family connection remains strong in the face of tragedies large and small. Australian director [[Performer~P79948~Gillian Armstrong~gillianarmstrong]] emphasizes the story's feminist elements, particularly in Jo's journey to independence. ~ Judd Blaise, Rovi

  • Release date:December 21, 1994

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Winona Ryder Best Actress 1994 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Thomas Newman Best Score 1994 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Colleen Atwood Best Costume Design 1994 Nominee

Cast

Winona Ryder
as Jo March
Gabriel Byrne
as Friedrich Bhaer
Trini Alvarado
as Meg March
Samantha Mathis
as Amy March (older)
Susan Sarandon
as Marmee March
Kirsten Dunst
as Amy March (Age 10)
Claire Danes
as Beth March
Eric Stoltz
as John Brooke
John Neville
as Grandpa Lawrence
Christian Bale
as Laurie Laurence
Mary Wickes
as Aunt March
Florence Patterson
as Hannah
Michelle Goodger
as Hortense
Christine Lippa
as Mrs Hummel
Janne Mortil
as Sally Moffat
Rebecca Toolan
as Mrs Gardiner
Jay Brazeau
as Dashwood
John Shaw
as Charles Botts
Donal Logue
as Jacob Mayer
Scott Bellis
as John McCracken
Kate Robbins
as Opera Singer Leila
Ahnee Boyce
as Sally's Friend
Beverley Elliott
as Irish Maid
Janie Woods-Morris
as Boston Matron
Marilyn Norry
as Mrs Kirk
Matthew Walker
as Mr. March

Crew

Gillian Armstrong
Director
Denise Di Novi
Producer
Robin Swicord
Screenwriter
Geoffrey Simpson
Cinematographer
Peter Levy
Cinematographer
Thomas Newman
Composer (Music Score)
Eric Batut
Musical Direction/Supervision
Nicholas Beauman
Editor
Jan Roelfs
Production Designer
Richard Hudolin
Art Director
Robin Swicord
Co-producer
Warren Carr
Associate Producer
Jim Erickson
Set Designer
Colleen Atwood
Costume Designer
Mark Turnbull
First Assistant Director
Shani Ginsberg
Casting
Stuart Aikins
Casting
Carrie Frazier
Casting
Naomi Donne
Makeup
Advertisement