Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Little Voice Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Based on Jim Cartright's play The Rise and Fall of Little Voice, this screen adaptation directed by [[Performer~P94129~Mark Herman~markherman]] is an underdog film about an underdog girl named Little Voice (or LV for short). LV ([[Performer~P33304~Jane Horrocks~janehorrocks]] from [[Performer~P99264~Mike Leigh~mikeleigh]]'s Life Is Sweet who does all her own singing) is a shy, mousy woman living with her mom Mari (Secrets and Lies' [[Performer~P6748~Brenda Blethyn~brendablethyn]]). Little Voice doesn't leave her house. Instead she sings along to her record collection of Shirley Bassey, [[Performer~P25962~Judy Garland~judygarland]], and [[Performer~P50065~Marilyn Monroe~marilynmonroe]]. Her mother Mari, however, is an outspoken woman who is convinced her sex appeal (which is little) will land her a man, especially when she's drunk. One night while bar-hopping, Mari meets the suave yet sleazy talent agent Ray Say ([[Performer~P10198~Michael Caine~michaelcaine]]), whom she takes home for a nightcap. There Ray hears the beautiful Little Voice singing a perfect rendition of [[Performer~P25962~Judy Garland~judygarland]]'s "Somewhere Over the Rainbow" from [[Feature~V55015~The Wizard of Oz~ozunomahotsukai]]. He's stunned by its beauty and thinks he can make her a star. From there the story heads in complicated, romantic, and sweet-hearted directions that should not be given away. Also starring in this small independent film is [[Performer~P196980~Ewan McGregor~ewanmcgregor]]. ~ Arthur Borman, Rovi

  • Release date:September 18, 1998

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Michael Caine Best Actor in a Musical or Comedy 1998 Winner
Screen Actors Guild Brenda Blethyn Best Supporting Actress 1998 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Brenda Blethyn Best Supporting Actress 1998 Nominee
Screen Actors Guild Jane Horrocks Best Actress 1998 Nominee

Crew

Mark Herman
Director
Elizabeth Karlsen
Producer
Mark Herman
Screenwriter
Bob Last
Musical Direction/Supervision
Michael Ellis
Editor
Don Taylor
Production Designer
John Graysmark
Art Director
Laurie Borg
Co-producer
Stephen Woolley
Executive Producer
Nik Powell
Executive Producer
Paul Webster
Executive Producer
Bob Weinstein
Executive Producer
Harvey Weinstein
Executive Producer
Lindy Hemming
Costume Designer
Priscilla John
Casting
Advertisement