Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Little Shop of Horrors Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

It started as a 1960 [[Performer~P85920~Roger Corman~rogercorman]] horror comedy, filmed in two days; it then inspired a lavish 1982 Broadway musical with music and lyrics by [[Performer~P102519~Alan Menken~alanmenken]] and [[Performer~P80085~Howard Ashman~howardashman]]. Finally in 1986, Little Shop of Horrors (1960) graduated into a multimillion-dollar, all-star film musical. [[Performer~P103436~Rick Moranis~rickmoranis]] plays nebbishy Seymour Krelborn, who works in a rundown flower shop on Skid Row. While his boss ([[Performer~P25883~Vincent Gardenia~vincentgardenia]]) bemoans the lack of business, Seymour seeks a way of bringing the shop -- and himself -- fame and fortune. He purchases a strange plant from an even stranger oriental street vendor ([[Performer~P77280~Vincent Wong~vincentwong]]), naming the plant after his girlfriend Audrey ([[Performer~P92426~Ellen Greene~ellengreene]], one of the few carry-overs from the Broadway version). Gradually, Seymour learns to his horror that "Audrey II" (given the voice of R&B performer [[Performer~P154000~Levi Stubbs~levistubbs]]) craves blood and flesh. With each of Audrey II's "FEEED MEEE"s, Seymour must scare up human food to satisfy the plant's appetite. One such victim is dentist [[Performer~P101485~Steve Martin~stevemartin]], a leather-jacketed [[Performer~P107032~Elvis~elvispresley]] type (the dentist's ultra-masochistic patient played by [[Performer~P104455~Jack Nicholson~jacknicholson]] in the 1960 original is here impersonated by [[Performer~P103861~Bill Murray~billmurray]]). The lighthearted tone of the film darkens as Audrey II grows in monstrosity, but the unhappy ending of the Broadway version is avoided herein. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:December 19, 1986

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Lyle Conway Best Visual Effects 1986 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Alan Menken Best Song 1986 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Howard Ashman Best Song 1986 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Bran Ferren Best Visual Effects 1986 Nominee

Cast

Rick Moranis
as Seymour Krelborn
Ellen Greene
as Audrey
Vincent Gardenia
as Mr. Mushnik
Steve Martin
as Orin Scrivello, D.D.S.
Levi Stubbs
as Audrey II
Tichina Arnold
as Crystal
Tisha Campbell
as Chiffon
Michelle Weeks
as Ronette
James Belushi
as Patrick Martin
John Candy
as Wink Wilkinson
Christopher Guest
as 1st Customer
Bill Murray
as Arthur Denton
Paul Dooley
Bob Sherman
as Agent
Kerry Shale
as Her Assistant
Michael J. Shannon
as Television Reporter
Vincent Wong
as Chinese Florist
Doreen Hermitage
as Life Magazine Lady
Gary Palmer
as Doo Wop Street Singer
Kelly Huntley
as Audrey & Seymour's Kid
Peter Whitman
as Patient on Ceiling
Alan Tilvern
as "Downtown" Bum
John Scott Martin
as "Downtown" Bum
Paul Swaby
as Doo Wop Street Singer
Ed Wiley
as "Downtown" Bum
Barbara Rosenblat
as 5th Customer
Danny Cunningham
as Doo Wop Street Singer
Bob Sessions
as Network Executive
Melissa Wiltsie
as 3rd Customer
Danny John-Jules
as Doo Wop Street Singer
Stan Jones
as Narrator
Abbie Dabner
as Boy Patient
Heather Henson
as Girl Patient
Judith Morse
as Girl's Mother
Paul Reynolds
as Audrey & Seymour's Kid
Adeen Fogle
as Radio Station Assistant
Miriam Margolyes
as Dental Nurse
Stephen Hoye
as Network Executive
Frank Dux
as 2nd Patient
Mak Wilson
as Doo Wop Street Singer
Bertice Reading
as "Downtown" Old Woman

Crew

Frank Oz
Director
David Geffen
Producer
William S. Gilmore
Producer
Howard Ashman
Screenwriter
Alan Menken
Composer (Music Score)
Miles Goodman
Composer (Music Score)
John Jympson
Editor
John Fenner
Production Designer
Steve Spence
Production Designer
Denis Holt
Associate Producer
Tessa Davies
Set Designer
Marit Allen
Costume Designer
Steve Maslow
Sound/Sound Designer
Bran Ferren
Special Effects
Margery Simkin
Casting
Howard Ashman
Lyricist
Paul Engelen
Makeup
Toby Philpott
Puppeteer
Advertisement