Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Little Man Tate Details


Jodie Foster made her directorial debut (with a script by Scott Frank) in this tale of a child prodigy's search for social acceptance. Fred Tate (Adam Hann-Byrd) is a precocious fourth grader who has no problem with the most complex mathematical problems or in banging out a Rachmaninoff concerto on the piano, but is totally inept at playing baseball or dealing with children his own age. His mother Dede (Jodie Foster) is a cocktail waitress who acts more like a child than Fred, but cares passionately about her son. Fred comes to the attention of child psychologist Jane Grierson (Dianne Wiest), who runs a summer camp for child prodigies called Odyssey of the Mind. She invites Fred to attend the summer session, creating a rift between Fred and Dede. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

  • Release date:October 18, 1991


Jodie Foster
as Dede Tate
Adam Hann-Byrd
as Fred Tate
Dianne Wiest
as Dr. Jane Grierson
Harry Connick, Jr.
as Eddie
David Hyde Pierce
as Garth
P.J. Ochlan
as Damon Wells
Debi Mazar
as Gina
George Plimpton
as Winston F. Buckner
Carolyn Lawrence
as Sorority Girl
Danitra Vance
as Clinic Doctor
Ellen McElduff
as Make-Up Woman
Jennifer Trier
as Grierson Institute Teacher
Bob Balaban
as Quizmaster (uncredited)
Chucky Ocampo
as Bob Yee
Erica Staton
as Girl Outside Classroom
Barry Williams
as Preppy Guy in Cafeteria
Gordon Greene
as Fred's Doctor
Sheadrick Richards
as "Livewire" Boy Guest
Sam Womelsdorf
as Eddie's Roommate
Celia Weston
as Miss Nimvel
Mark Lienhart
as Fenton
Michael Keavey
as Auctioneer
Ishe Costa
as Cherry Reynolds
Michael Shulman
as Matt Montini
Alexandra Auder
as Eddie's Girlfriend
Elizabeth Frietsch
as "Livewire" Girl Guest
Josh Mostel
as Physics Professor
John Bell
as Joey X.
George Kaufman
as Eddie's Friend
Adam Midkiff
as Evan
Alex Lee
as Fred Tate-Age 2
Michael Mantell
as Coral Bay Owner


Jodie Foster
Peggy Rajski
Scott Rudin
Scott Frank
Mike Southon
Mark Isham
Composer (Music Score)
Lynzee Klingman
Jon Hutman
Production Designer
Adam Lustig
Art Director
Randy Stone
Executive Producer
Samara Schaffer
Set Designer
Susan Lyall
Costume Designer
Giorgio Armani
Costume Designer
Douglas Axtell
Sound/Sound Designer
Joe Camp III
First Assistant Director
Mike Topoozian
First Assistant Director
Martin Schaer
Camera Operator
Avy Kaufman
Carol Cuddy
Production Manager
Lina Todd
Gregg Landaker
Re-Recording Mixer
Henry Cline
First Assistant Camera
Eric Whitehead
Best Boy Grip
Amy Vincent
Second Assistant Camera
Quincy Koenig
Bob Deschaine
ADR Mixer
Julie Hewett
Shannon Kemp
Production Assistant
Fleet Eakland
Transportation Coordinator
Christine Baur
Stunts Coordinator
Phill Norman
Title Design
Alicia Stevenson
Foley Artist
George Chappel
Harry Jarvis
Third Assistant Director
Peggy Rajski
Second Unit Director
Daniel Schalk
First Assistant Editor
Ken Kugler
Musical Performer
Deirdre Costa
Assistant Location Manager
Reinhard Schreiner
Sound Editor
Beth Bernstein
Art Department Coordinator
Greg Orloff
Foley Mixer
Greg Jacobs
Second Assistant Director
Steve Irwin
Video Playback
Lawrence Jordan
Additional Editing
David Goldblatt
Musical Performer
Elizabeth Feldbauer
Costumes Supervisor
Kurt Wortman
Musical Performer
Michael Minkler
Re-Recording Mixer
Kris Nielsen
Production Assistant
James Babineaux
Best Boy Electric
Taryn Walsh
Costumes Assistant
Catherine Wall
Sid Page
Musical Performer
Mike McCue
Second Second Assistant Director
Jeff De La Rosa
Gary Burritt
Negative Cutter
Mary Cybulski
Script Supervisor
Anthony Janelli
Second Unit Camera
Erich W. Schultz
Construction Coordinator
Norto Sepulveda
ADR Editor
Holly Heinzmann
First Assistant Camera
Larce Crawford
Construction Foreman
Joanna Jimenez
Sound Editor