Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

In the Line of Fire Details


[[Performer~P88601~Clint Eastwood~clinteastwood]] delivers one of his finest performances, as a secret service agent haunted by his past in [[Performer~P106242~Wolfgang Petersen~wolfgangpetersen]]'s taut thriller In the Line of Fire. [[Performer~P88601~Eastwood~clinteastwood]] plays Frank Horrigan, a secret service agent who keeps thinking back to November 22, 1963, when, as an agent hand-picked by [[Performer~P37720~President Kennedy~johnfkennedy]], he became one of the few agents to have lost a president to an assassin. Decades later, psychotic Mitch Leary ([[Performer~P44846~John Malkovich~johnmalkovich]]) is stalking another president ([[Performer~P207815~Jim Curley~jimcurley]]) running for re-election. He has spent long hours studying the psyche of Frank Horrigan, and he taunts Horrigan (feeling that there is a bond between them), telling him of his plans to kill the president. After his conversation with Leary, Horrigan makes sure he is assigned to presidential protection duty. Horrigan has no intention of failing his president this time around, and he is more than willing to take a bullet. But everything goes Leary's way -- he is smart and cagey and the president's aides refuse to alter the itinerary. As the election draws closer, Horrigan's chances to catch Leary look to be less and less a possibility, and he begins to doubt his own abilities -- both now and in the past, when [[Performer~P37720~Kennedy~johnfkennedy]] was murdered. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi


Awarded by
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Jeff Maguire Best Original Screenplay 1993 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Jeff Maguire Best Original Screenplay 1993 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts John Malkovich Best Supporting Actor 1993 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association John Malkovich Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture 1993 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences John Malkovich Best Supporting Actor 1993 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Anne V. Coates Best Editing 1993 Nominee


Clint Eastwood
as Frank Horrigan
John Malkovich
as Mitch Leary
Rene Russo
as Lilly Raines
Dylan McDermott
as Al D'Andrea
Gary Cole
as Bill Watts
Fred Dalton Thompson
as Harry Sargent
John Mahoney
as Sam Campagna
Jim Curley
as President
Sally Hughes
as First Lady
Clyde Kusatsu
as Jack Okura
Steve Hytner
as Tony Conducci
Tobin Bell
as Mendoza
Patrika Darbo
as Pam Magnus
John Heard
as Professor Riger
Anthony Peck
as FBI Official
Robert Peters
as Hunter
Janet Hirshenson
William G. Schilling
as Sanford Riggs
Arthur Senzy
as Paramedic
Tyde Kierney
as Police Captain Howard
Eric Bruskotter
as Young Agent
Brian Libby
as FBI Supervisor
Bob Schott
as Jimmy Hendrickson
Ryan Cutrona
as LAPD,Brass
Walt MacPherson
as Hunter
Carl Ciarfalio
as CIA Agent Collins
Elsa Raven
as Leary's Landlady
Alan Toy
as Walter Wickland
Robert Alan Beuth
as Man at Bank
Joshua Malina
as Agent Chavez
Jane Jenkins
Rick Hurst
as Bartender
Cylk Cozart
as Agent Cozart
Aaron Michael Lacey
as Police Officer
Gregory Alan Williams
as Matt Wilder
Lawrence Lowe
as FBI Technician


Wolfgang Petersen
Jeff Apple
Jeff Maguire
John Bailey
Ennio Morricone
Composer (Music Score)
Anne V. Coates
Lilly Kilvert
Production Designer
David Lester
Production Designer
John Warnke
Art Director
David Valdes
Executive Producer
Gail Katz
Executive Producer
Wolfgang Petersen
Executive Producer
Kara Lindstrom
Set Designer
Erica Phillips
Costume Designer
Michael Stone
Camera Operator
Don Reddy
Camera Operator
Janet Hirshenson
Jane Jenkins