Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Lifeforce Details


Director [[Performer~P94802~Tobe Hooper~tobehooper]] adapts [[Performer~P290689~Colin Wilson~colinwilson]]'s edgy novel The Space Vampires in this in this horror/sci-fi epic with a cult following. The story concerns a joint British-American space probe of Hailey's Comet. Inside the comet, the astronauts, headed by Carlsen ([[Performer~P107424~Steve Railsback~steverailsback]]), find a spaceship that contains the dead bodies of several aliens, along with the naked bodies of three human-like creatures in suspended animation. They bring the aliens aboard the ship for examination, but the specimens are sloppily guarded and soon the trio spread contagion among the population of the ship. Returning to earth, the beautiful space vampire ([[Performer~P46681~Mathilda May~mathildamay]]) escapes into London and begins to feed of the bodies of the unwary Britons, turning the city into a zombie-populated wasteland. It is now left for Carlsen to stop the vampire invaders. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

  • Release date:June 21, 1985


Steve Railsback
as Commander Tom Carlsen
Peter Firth
as Inspector Caine
Frank Finlay
as Inspector Fallada
Mathilda May
as Space Girl
Patrick Stewart
as Dr. Armstrong
Michael Gothard
as Bukovsky
Nicholas Ball
as Derebridge
Aubrey Morris
as Sir Percy
Nancy Paul
as Ellen
John Hallam
as Lawson
Rupert Baker
as Soldier
Chris Jagger
as Vampire
Christopher Barr
as Trajectory Officer
John Woodnut
as Metallurgist
Nicholas Donnelly
as Police Inspector
Russell Sommers
as Navigation Officer
Sydney Livingstone
as Ned Price
Derek Benfield
as Physician
Katherine Schofield
as Prime Minister's Secretary
David Beckett
as Soldier
Julian Firth
as Boy in Park
Owen Holder
as 1st Scientist
Sydney Kean
as Brash Guard
Richard Sharpe
as Rescue Ship Crewman
Carl Rigg
as Radar Technician
Geoffrey Frederick
as Communications Officer
John Golightly
as Colonel
John Forbes-Robertson
as Minister
Milton Cadman
as Soldier
Richard Oldfield
as Mission Leader
Bill Malin
as Vampire
Burnell Tucker
as N.A.S.A. Man
Gary Hildreth
as Police Surgeon
Peter Porteous
as Prime Minister
William Lindsay
as Colonel's Aide
David English
as Crew
Emma Jacobs
as Crew
Jerome Willis
as Pathologist
Haydn Wood
as Helicopter Pilot
Ken Parry
as Sykes
Peter Lovstrom
as Boy in Park
Thom Booker
as 1st N.A.S.A. Officer
Michael Fitzpatrick
as 2nd N.A.S.A. Officer
Elizabeth Morton
as Radar Technician


Tobe Hooper
Menahem Golan
Yoram Globus
Dan O'Bannon
Don Jakoby
Alan Hume
Henry Mancini
Composer (Music Score)
James Guthrie
Composer (Music Score)
Michael Kamen
Composer (Music Score)
John Grover
John Graysmark
Production Designer
Robert Cartwright
Art Director
Terry Knight
Art Director
Tony Reading
Art Director
Alan Tomkins
Art Director
Michael J. Kagan
Associate Producer
Simon Wakefield
Set Designer
Denise Exshaw
Set Designer
Carin Hooper
Costume Designer
Nick Maley
Special Effects
John Dykstra
Special Effects
Peter Diamond
Tip Tipping
Sandra Exelby
Dickie Mills