Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Liberty Heights Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Writer/director [[Performer~P99530~Barry Levinson~barrylevinson]] returns to his home town of Baltimore, where he previously set three nostalgic features ([[Feature~V13809~Diner~diner]], [[Feature~V50083~Tin Men~tinmen]], and [[Feature~V3385~Avalon~avalon]]) for this story of two brothers growing up in the tumultuous days of 1954, as rock 'n' roll, the atom bomb, and the civil rights movement changed the way teenagers looked at the world. One of the brothers has fallen in love with a beautiful girl who, to the chagrin of his family, is a blonde-haired, blue-eyed Protestant, while the other has an even bigger shock for his folks: his new girlfriend is black. [[Performer~P45196~Joe Mantegna~joemantegna]] and [[Performer~P52321~Bebe Neuwirth~bebeneuwirth]] play the parents, with [[Performer~P8639~Adrien Brody~adrienbrody]], [[Performer~P29085~Vincent Guastaferro~vincentguastaferro]], [[Performer~P237486~Orlando Jones~orlandojones]], [[Performer~P39484~David Krumholz~davidkrumholtz]], and [[Performer~P200969~Kiersten Warren~kierstenwarren]] also topping the cast. [[Performer~P115730~Tom Waits~tomwaits]] wrote several original songs for the film, while [[Performer~P103551~Andrea Morricone~andreamorricone]] (daughter of [[Performer~P103552~Ennio Morricone~enniomorricone]]) wrote the score. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:November 17, 1999

Cast

Adrien Brody
as Van Kurtzman
Ben Foster
as Ben Kurtzman
Orlando Jones
as Little Melvin
Bebe Neuwirth
as Ada Kurtzman
Joe Mantegna
as Nate Kurtzman
Rebekah Johnson
as Sylvia
David Krumholtz
as Yussel
Vincent Guastaferro
as Pete
Justin Chambers
as Trey
Carolyn Murphy
as Dubbie
James Pickens, Jr.
as Sylvia's Father
Frania Rubinek
as Rose
Anthony Anderson
as Scribbles
Kiersten Warren
as Annie
Evan Neumann
as Sheldon
Kevin Sussman
as Alan
Gerry Rosenthal
as Murray
Charley Scalies
as Louie
Shane West
as Ted

Crew

Barry Levinson
Director
Barry Levinson
Producer
Paula Weinstein
Producer
Barry Levinson
Screenwriter
Christopher Doyle
Cinematographer
Andrea Morricone
Composer (Music Score)
Joel Sill
Musical Direction/Supervision
Allan Mason
Musical Direction/Supervision
Tom Waits
Songwriter
Stu Linder
Editor
Vincent Peranio
Production Designer
Alan Muraoka
Art Director
Michael Haley
Associate Producer
Amy Solan
Associate Producer
Patrick McCormick
Executive Producer
William A. Cimino
Set Designer
Gloria Gresham
Costume Designer
Steve Cantamessa
Sound/Sound Designer
Michael Haley
First Assistant Director
Ellen Chenoweth
Casting
Advertisement