Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

A Letter to Three Husbands Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

That Letter to Three Husbands was an uninspired gender-switch reworking of 1949's [[Feature~V127008~Letter to Three Wives~alettertothreewives]] was less obvious when the film was originally released as [[Feature~V49670~Three Husbands~threehusbands]]. The husbands of [[Performer~P2128~Eve Arden~evearden]], [[Performer~P74804~Ruth Warrick~ruthwarrick]] and [[Performer~P9041~Vanessa Brown~vanessabrown]] each receive a letter from a recently deceased gentleman, who claims to have had an affair with one of the wives. The flashbacks begin rolling, with each hubby (Howard de Silva, [[Performer~P68771~Sheppard Strudwick~shepperdstrudwick]] and [[Performer~P36951~Robert Karnes~robertkarnes]]) trying to decide if his is the guilty wife. Unlike [[Feature~V127008~Letter to Three Wives~alettertothreewives]], in which the letter is genuine and the ending ambivalent, Letter to Three Husbands turns out to be founded on a hoax conducted by roguish [[Performer~P116860~Emlyn Williams~emlynwilliams]]. [[Performer~P84406~Vera Caspary~veracaspary]], who'd done all right with [[Feature~V130861~Laura~laura]] a few years earlier, was the scriptwriter responsible for this cinematic carbon copy. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Advertisement