Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Let's Make It Legal Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Let's Make It Legal begins at the end--the end of the long marriage between beautiful grandmother Miriam ([[Performer~P14003~Claudette Colbert~claudettecolbert]]) and her chronic-gambler husband Hugh ([[Performer~P10881~Macdonald Carey~macdonaldcarey]]). Barbara ([[Performer~P4518~Barbara Bates~barbarabates]]), the daughter of the couple, hopes to bring her parents back together, which proves to be a difficult proposition when Miriam's old flame Victor ([[Performer~P64151~Zachary Scott~zacharyscott]]), now a millionaire, arrives in town. Hugh tries all sorts of comic strategies to win his ex-wife back, but to no avail. Ultimately, Miriam must choose between the financially solvent Victor and the impishly irresponsible Hugh. This being a comedy, it isn't hard to figure who's going to be headed to the altar at fade-out time. Let's Make It Legal was partly designed to showcase two of Fox's up-and-coming contract players: [[Performer~P74078~Robert Wagner~robertwagner]] and [[Performer~P50065~Marilyn Monroe~marilynmonroe]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Claudette Colbert
as Miriam Denham
MacDonald Carey
as Hugh Halsworth
Zachary Scott
as Victor Macfarland
Barbara Bates
as Barbara Denham
Robert Wagner
as Jerry Denham
Marilyn Monroe
as Joyce
Frank Cady
as Ferguson
Jim Hayward
as Gardener
Carol Savage
as Miss Jessup
Paul Gerrits
as Milkman
Ralph Sanford
as Police Lieutenant
Harry Denny
as Hotel Manager
Harry Harvey
as Postman
Renny McEvoy
Wilson Wood
as Reporter
Kathleen Freeman
as Reporter
Abe Dinovitch
as Laborer
Frank Sully
as Laborer
Beverly Thompson
as Reporter

Crew

Richard Sale
Director
Robert Bassler
Producer
I.A.L. Diamond
Screenwriter
Mortimer Braus
Screen Story
Frederick Hugh Herbert
Screenwriter
Lucien Ballard
Cinematographer
Lionel Newman
Musical Direction/Supervision
Cyril Mockridge
Composer (Music Score)
Robert Fritch
Editor
Albert Hogsett
Art Director
Lyle Wheeler
Art Director
Advertisement