Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Lepke Details


Tony Curtis stars as the feared leader of "Murder Incorporated" in this underworld drama based on the life of Louis "Lepke" Buchalter. Lepke began his criminal career as a petty thief in his teens; a stretch in prison taught him the finer points of life on the wrong side of the law. After getting out of jail, Lepke and his pal Gurrah Shapiro (Warren Berlinger) join a gang who hire themselves out as strikebreakers, and the vicious but clever Lepke soon rises through the ranks. Lepke makes powerful friends with mob kingpins "Lucky" Luciano (Vic Tayback) and Albert Anastasia (Gianni Russo), and when high-ranking but deranged gangster "Dutch" Schultz (John Durren) announces he's going to kill District Attorney Thomas E. Dewey (Richard C. Adams), Lepke is chosen to rub "Dutch" out. Lepke handles the assignment well, and he's able to strike up a deal with the various Mafia families -- he'll form a separate organization to handle executions and assassinations, and he'll hire out his services to any mobsters who need it, provided the mob bosses approve the killings. Between "Murder Incorporated" and a drug ring operated with Luciano, Lepke has become a wealthy and important man in the underworld, but ironically he finds soon himself himself investigated by the man whose life he unwittingly saved -- Dewey. Lepke also features comedian and impressionist Vaughn Meader as the voice of Walter Winchell. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi


Tony Curtis
as Louis "Lepke" Buchalter
Anjanette Comer
as Bernice Meyer
Michael Callan
as Robert Kane
Warren Berlinger
as Gurrah Shapiro
Gianni Russo
as Albert Anastasia
Vic Tayback
as Lucky Luciano
Milton Berle
as Mr. Meyer
Simmy Bow
as Tannenbaum
Crane Jackson
as Judge
Barry Miller
as Young Lepke
Zitto Kazann
as Abe "Kid Twist" Reles
John Durren
as Dutch Schultz
Louis Guss
as Max Rubin
Guy Christopher
as Reporter
Albert Cole
as Gross
Jack Tesler
as Feldman
Johnny Silver
as Schwartz
Lillian Adams
as Mama Meyer


Menahem Golan
Menahem Golan
Yoram Globus
Tamar Simon Hoffs
Andrew Davis
Ken Wannberg
Composer (Music Score)
Aaron Stell
Dov Hoenig
Jackson de Govia
Production Designer
George Wilbur