Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Legend of the Guardians: The Owls Of Ga'Hoole Details


Director Zack Snyder teams with screenwriters John Collee and John Orloff to adapt author Kathryn Lasky's popular series of children's books about a group of kidnapped owlets who take flight to save their kingdom from an ancient evil by locating the legendary Guardians of Ga'Hoole. As a young hatchling, Soren would sit transfixed whenever his father would tell the tale of the Guardians of Ga'Hoole and their tireless efforts to defeat the malevolent Pure Ones, whose aim was to exterminate the entire owl population. After hearing the high-flying tales of adventure, Soren would fantasize about gliding through the clouds with the brave owl soldiers while his jealous older brother, Kludd, attempted to gain their father's favor by becoming a skilled hunter. One day, Kludd's anger gets the best of him, and the next thing he knows he's tumbling over the edge of the nest with Soren. But instead of falling to the ground, the siblings are quickly snatched up by the dreaded Pure Ones, and are taken to a place where their parents will never find them. Incredibly, Soren and group of fearless young owls manage to stage a daring escape. With the future of the owl kingdoms hanging in the balance, brave Soren and his newfound friends travel to the ends of the earth in hopes of finding the mythical Great Tree and convincing the Guardians of Ga'Hoole to help defeat the Pure Ones once and for all. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:September 24, 2010


Sam Neill
as Allomere
Geoffrey Rush
as Ezylryb
Hugo Weaving
as Noctus
David Wenham
as Digger
Abbie Cornish
as Otulissa
Ryan Kwanten
as Kludd
Sacha Horler
as Strix Struma
Miriam Margolyes
as Mrs. Plithiver
Helen Mirren
as Nyra
Jim Sturgess
as Soren
Essie Davis
as Marella
Hugo Weaving
as Grimble
Joel Edgerton
as Metal Beak
Angus Sampson
as Jutt
Leigh Whannell
as Jatt
Deborra-Lee Furness
as Barran
Barry Otto
as Echidna
Bill Hunter
as Bubo
Anthony LaPaglia
as Twilight
Richard Roxburgh
as Boron


Zack Snyder
Zareh Nalbandian
Emil Stern
Kathryn Lasky
Book Author
John Orloff
David Hirschfelder
Composer (Music Score)
Simon Whiteley
Production Designer
Imke Fehrmann
Associate Producer
Wesley Coller
Associate Producer
Katrina Peers
Associate Producer
Donald De Line
Executive Producer
Kathryn Lasky
Executive Producer
Bruce Berman
Executive Producer
Lionel Wigram
Executive Producer
Deborah Snyder
Executive Producer
Chris De Faria
Executive Producer
Wayne Pashley
Sound/Sound Designer
Georgie Uppington
Production Manager
Kristy Carlson
Christine Cheung
Second Assistant Editor
Henry Karjalainen
First Assistant Editor
Henry Karjalainen
Post Production Supervisor
Matt Villa
Additional Editing
Wayne Pashley
Supervising Sound Editor
Alicia Gleeson
Additional Editing
Craig Welsh
Eric Leighton
Animation Director