Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Legally Blonde Details


Reese Witherspoon stars in this romantic comedy, the feature film debut of award-winning Australian director Robert Luketic. As a ravishing Miss Hawaiian Tropic, sorority president, and calendar girl, Elle Woods (Witherspoon) is a big hit on the campus of her sun-drenched Los Angeles college. She's also got the perfect boyfriend in Warner Huntington III (Matthew Davis), a wealthy East Coast blue blood. Fearing that his snooty friends and family will never accept the bubble-headed Elle, however, Warner dumps her before heading off to graduate law school at Harvard University. Determined to win back her man, Elle enrolls in the same imposing institution, quickly becoming an object of scorn and ridicule, especially to Warner's old prep school flame (Selma Blair). Despite her penchant for malls, makeup, and tanning, Elle is no dummy and is soon showing elite Ivy League snobs a thing or two about class, self-confidence, and courtroom victory. ~ Karl Williams, Rovi

  • Release date:October 26, 2001


Awarded by
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Reese Witherspoon Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 2001 Nominee


Reese Witherspoon
as Elle Woods
Luke Wilson
as Emmett Richmond
Selma Blair
as Vivian Kensington
Matthew Davis
as Warner Huntington III
Victor Garber
as Professor Callahan
Jennifer Coolidge
as Paulette Bonafonte
Holland Taylor
as Professor Stromwell
Ali Larter
as Brooke Taylor Windham
Jessica Cauffiel
as Margot
Alanna Ubach
as Serena McGuire
Oz Perkins
as Dorky David
Linda Cardellini
as Chutney
Bruce Thomas
as UPS Guy
Meredith Scott Lynn
as Enid
Raquel Welch
as Mrs. Windham Vandermark
Samantha Lemole
as Claire
Victoria Mahoney
as Reporter
Lisa K. Wyatt
as Jail House Guard
Michael B. Silver
as Bobby
Niklaus Lange
as Annoyed 2L
Tane McClure
as Elle's Mother
David Moreland
as Admissions Guy
Lisa Kushell
as Boutique Saleswoman
Ted Kairys
as Gerard
Ondrea De Vincentis
as Callahan's Assistant
Chaney Kley
as Brandon
Wayne Federman
as Admissions Guy
Terence Michael
as Desk Clerk
Jason Christopher
as Chuck
Kelly Driscoll
as Blonde Card Carrier
Kevin Cooney
as Head of Admissions
Corinne Reilly
as Reporter
Francesca Roberts
as Marina R. Bickford
Jodi Harris
as Another Sister
Richard Hillman
as College Student (uncredited)
James Read
as Elle's Father
Allyce Beasley
as CULA Advisor
Nectar Rose
as Freshman Girl
Lacey Beeman
as Nervous L1 Girl
Natalie Barish
as Old Lady at Manicurist
Shannon O'Hurley
as DA Joyce Rafferty
Sasha Barrese
as Another Girl
Brody Hutzler
as Grant
Kennedy Stone
as Sorority Girl
Kimberly McCullough
as Amy
Patricia Kimes
as Blonde Biker
Greg Serano
as Enrique
Doug Spinuzza
as Intense Ivan Berliner
Cici Lau
as LA Nail Technician
Ted Rooney
as Admissions Guy
Kelly Nyks
as Arrogant Aaron


Robert Luketic
Ric Kidney
Marc E. Platt
Karen McCullah Lutz
Kirsten Smith
Anthony Richmond
Anita Camarata
Musical Direction/Supervision
Rolfe Kent
Composer (Music Score)
Garth Craven
Anita Brandt-Burgoyne
Melissa Stewart
Production Designer
David Nicksay
Chris McLaughlin
Douglas Berkeley
Set Designer
Kathy Lucas
Set Designer
Kathy Lucas
Set Decorator
Kim Carleton
Costume Designer
Kim Johnson
Costume Designer
Sophie de Rakoff Carbonell
Costume Designer
Ed White
Sound/Sound Designer
Josh King
First Assistant Director
Toni Basil
Joseph Middleton
Chris Scurria
Dolly Grip
Steve Hagberg
Construction Coordinator
Joy Zapata
Key Hairstylist
Joe Barnett
Re-Recording Mixer
Shelly Kidney
Production Supervisor
Ric Kidney
Unit Production Manager
Linda Arnold
Hair Styles
Dena Berman
Casting Assistant
Michelle Morris Gertz
Casting Associate
Ed White
Production Sound
Tyger Belton
Second Assistant Camera
Patty Owen
Assistant Art Director
Jonathan Richmond
First Assistant Camera
Alex Renskoff
First Assistant Editor
Craig Jurkiewicz
Foley Editor
Ellen Gessert
Location Manager
Asha MacLeod
Production Assistant
Michael Kamper
Sound Effects Director
Brad Wilder
Key Make-up
Chris Corey
Production Assistant
Will Sandoval
Production Assistant
Javier Bennassar
Sound Effects Director
Michael Mullane
Sound Effects Director
Marci Rosenberg
Production Coordinator
Erin Wilhelm-Hilkey
Assistant Location Manager
Shawn Petersen
Post Production Assistant
Ned Shapiro
Location Manager
Sue Chipperton
Animal Trainer/Wrangler
Gary Tandrow
Chief Lighting Technician
Michael Hertlein
Dialogue Editor
Marcei Brubaker
Second Assistant Director
Marc Fishman
Re-Recording Mixer
China Iwata
Assistant Properties
Deborah Wuliger
Unit Publicist
Paul Tilden
Camera Loader
Chato Hill
Assistant Sound Editor
Marisa Ferrey
Second Second Assistant Director
Jeff Ferrero
Assistant Chief Lighting Technician
Ronit Ravich-Boss
Script Supervisor