Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

A League of Their Own Details


The All-American Girls' Professional Baseball League was founded in 1943, when most of the men of baseball-playing age were far away in Europe and Asia fighting World War II. The league flourished until after World War II, when, with the men's return, the league was consigned to oblivion. Director Penny Marshall and screenwriters Lowell Ganz and Babaloo Mandel re-create the wartime era when women's baseball looked to stand a good chance of sweeping the country. The story begins as a candy-bar tycoon enlists agents to scour the country to find women who could play ball. In the backwoods of Oregon, two sisters -- Dottie (Geena Davis) and Kit (Lori Petty) -- are discovered. Dottie can hit and catch, while Kit can throw a mean fastball. The girls come to Chicago to try out for the team with other prospects that include their soon-to-be-teammates Mae Mordabito (Madonna), Doris Murphy (Rosie O'Donnell), and Marla Hooch (Megan Cavanagh). The team's owner, Walter Harvey (Gary Marshall) needs someone to coach his team and he picks one-time home-run champion Jimmy Dugan (Tom Hanks), who is now a broken-down alcoholic. After a few weeks of training, as Dugan sobers up, the team begins to show some promise. By the end of the season, the team has improved to the point where they are competing in the World Series (which is no big deal, since there are only four teams in the league). ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

  • Release date:July 1, 1992


Awarded by
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Geena Davis Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 1992 Nominee


Geena Davis
as Dottie Hinson
Tom Hanks
as Jimmy Dugan
Lori Petty
as Kit Keller
as Mae Mordabito
Jon Lovitz
as Ernie Capadino
Rosie O'Donnell
as Doris Murphy
David Strathairn
as Ira Lowenstein
Garry Marshall
as Walter Harvey
Megan Cavanagh
as Marla Hooch
Renee Coleman
as Alice Gaspers
Ann Cusack
as Shirley Baker
Anne Ramsay
as Helen Haley
Tracy Reiner
as Betty Horn
Bitty Schram
as Evelyn Gardner
Bill Pullman
as Bob Hinson
Pauline Brailsford
as Miss Cuthbert
Justin Scheller
as Stilwell
Eddie Jones
as Dave Hooch
Lynn Cartwright
as Older Dottie
Patti Pelton
as Marbleann Wilkenson
Kathleen Marshall
as "Mumbles" Brockman
Ellen Lewis
Stephen Feagley
as 2nd Autograph Kid
Neezer Tarleton
as Neezer Dalton
Kelli Simpkins
as Beverly Dixon
Joette Hodgen
as Opera Singer
Brenda Ferrari
as Racine Pitcher
Robert Stanton
as Western Union Man
Joey Slotnick
as 2nd Doris Fan
Amanda Mackey-Johnson
Brenda Watson
as Stacey Gustaferro
Don S. Davis
as Racine Coach Charlie
Shirley Burkovich
as Older Alice
Eugenia McLin
as Older Elle Sue
Robin Knight
as "Beans" Babbitt
Ryan Olsen
as Dollbody Kid
Alan Wilder
as Nelson
Rae Allen
as Ma Keller
Brian Flannery
as 1st Autograph Kid
Gregory Sporleder
as Mitch Swaley
Eunice Anderson
as Older Mae
Janet Jones
as Racine Pitcher
Barbara Erwin
as Older Shirley
Sharon Szmidt
as Vivian Ernst
Douglas Blakeslee
as 1st Doris Fan
Harry Shearer
as Newsreel Announcer
Barbara Pilavin Gelber
as Older Helen
Joe Krowka
as Heckler
Cheryl Jones
as Vickie Buse
R.M. Haley
as Empathetic Umpire
Sally Rutherford
as Julie Croteau
Shelly Niemeyer
as KC Carr
Stephen Mailer
as Kit's Date in Bar
Amanda Walker
as Kirsten Gretick
Larissa Collins
as Charm School Assistant
Betty Miller
as Older Betty
Ryan Howell
as Jeffrey
Cherry Jones
as Additional Player
Eddie Mekka
as Mae's Guy in Bar
Lita Scmitt
as Tonya Gilles Koch
Vera Johnson
as Older Doris
Mark Holton
as Older Stilwell
Téa Leoni
as Racine 1B
Laurel Cronin
as Maida Gilespie
Connie Pounds-Taylor
as Connie Calhoun
Lisa Hand
as Shelly Adlard


Penny Marshall
Elliot Abbott
Robert Greenhut
Kelly Candaele
Kim Wilson
Kim Wilson
Screen Story
Kim Wilson
Lowell Ganz
Kelly Candaele
Screen Story
Babaloo Mandel
Miroslav Ondrícek
Michael Yada
Hans Zimmer
Composer (Music Score)
George Bowers
Adam Bernardi
Bill Groom
Production Designer
Tim Galvin
Art Director
Joseph Hartwick
Amy Lemisch
Associate Producer
Penny Marshall
Executive Producer
Cynthia Flynt
Costume Designer
Les Lazarowitz
Sound/Sound Designer
Ellen Lewis