Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Le Divorce Details


Based on the 1997 National Book Award-nominated novel of the same name by Diane Johnson (co-writer of the script for Stanley Kubrick's Stanley Kubrick), Le Divorce is a romantic comedy from director James Ivory. Revisiting the "Americans in France" theme that Ivory explored in 1998's Ivory, the film stars Kate Hudson as Isabel Walker. When she receives word that her pregnant poetess sister Roxy (Naomi Watts) has been left by her philandering French husband, artist Charles-Henri de Persand (Melvil Poupaud), Isabel offers her help and moral support. As the depressive Roxy struggles with the separation proceedings -- which include the rights to ownership of a work of art that's a family heirloom -- Isabel takes a job with author Olivia Pace and has a fling with the bohemian Yves (Romain Duris). But things get complicated when the younger, more impudent sister decides instead to pursue Charles' uncle, the snooty, married diplomat Edgar (Thierry Lhermitte), and when a mysterious man (Matthew Modine) starts stalking Roxy. Eventually, the rest of the plucky Walker clan has to come to the aid of the siblings. Stockard Channing and Sam Waterston co-star. ~ Matthew Tobey, Rovi

  • Release date:August 8, 2003


Kate Hudson
as Isabel Walker
Naomi Watts
as Roxeanne de Persand
Jean-Marc Barr
as Maitre Bertram
Leslie Caron
as Suizanne de Persand
Stockard Channing
as Margreeve Walker
Glenn Close
as Olivia Pace
Romain Duris
as Yves
Stephen Fry
as Piers Janely
Samuel Labarthe
as Antoine de Persand
Thomas Lennon
as Roger Walker
Thierry Lhermitte
as Edgar Cosset
Daniel Mesguich
as Louvre Expert
Matthew Modine
as Tellman
Bebe Neuwirth
as Julia Manchevering
Melvil Poupaud
as Charles-Henri de Persand
Nathalie Richard
as Charlotte de Persand
Catherine Samie
as Madame Florian
Sam Waterston
as Chester Walker
Rona Hartner
as Magda
Lambert Wilson


James Ivory
Ismail Merchant
Michael Schiffer
Ruth Prawer Jhabvala
James Ivory
Pierre Lhomme
John David Allen
Frederic Benard
Production Designer
Richard Hawley
Paul Bradley
Ted Field
Executive Producer
Erica Huggins
Executive Producer
Carol Ramsey
Costume Designer
Ludovic Henault
Sound/Sound Designer
George Every
First Assistant Director
Annette Trumel
Rahila Bootwala
Line Producer