Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Last Valley Details


Noted novelist and sometime film director James Clavell, wrote, directed, and produced this adaptation of J.B. Pick's novel, set during the Thirty Years' War of 1618-1648. During the chaotic confrontations and shifting alliances of the war, a hidden valley protected from the outside world becomes an oasis of peace. Vogel (Omar Sharif), a one-time school teacher now on the run, travels into the peaceful valley. Following Vogel a short time later is a rag-tag and exhausted army, led by The Captain (Michael Caine). Utilizing Vogel as a mediator, the Captain arranges a truce with the valley population -- pledging to protect the people of the valley from invasion in return for food and shelter during the cold winter months. At the end of the season, the army leaves to fight another battle, Vogel is asked to depart from the hidden valley, and the valley and its population continues on and endures. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi


Michael Caine
as Captain
Omar Sharif
as Vogel
Florinda Bolkan
as Erica
Nigel Davenport
as Gruber
Per Oscarsson
as Father Sebastian
Arthur O'Connell
as Hoffman
Madeline Hinde
as Inge
Joe Powell
as Kaas
George Innes
as Vomez
Yorgo Voyagis
as Pirelli
Leon Lissek
as Czeraki
Edward Underdown
as Gnarled Peasant
Michael Gothard
as Hansen
John Hallam
as Geddes
Mike Douglas
as Stoffel
Miguel Alejandro
as Julio
Tony Vogel
as Tub
Kurt Christian
as Tsarus
Claudia Butenuth
as Helga
Ralph Arliss
as Claus
Vladek Sheybal
as Mathias
Ian Hogg
as Graf
Christopher Chittell
as Svenson
Patrick Westwood
as Rethman
Irene Prador
as Frau Hoffman
Brian Blessed
as Korski
Frazer Hines
as Corg
Richard Graydon
as Yuri
Christian Roberts
as Andreas
Jack Shepherd
as Eskesen


James Clavell
James Clavell
James Clavell
John Barry
Musical Direction/Supervision
John Barry
Composer (Music Score)
John Bloom
Peter Mullins
Art Director
Martin Baum
Executive Producer
Yvonne Blake
Costume Designer
Bob Peck
Sound/Sound Designer
Pat Moore
Special Effects
Bill Cartlidge
First Assistant Director
Wally Schneiderman