Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Last Legion Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Co-adapted by [[Performer~P233408~Tom Butterworth~tombutterworth]] and [[Performer~P233406~Jez Butterworth~jezbutterworth]] from [[Performer~P439811~Valerio Massimo Manfredi~valeriomassimomanfredi]]'s best-selling historical adventure novel, [[Performer~P99207~Doug Lefler~douglefler]]'s period epic The Last Legion unfurls in 470 A.D., just prior to the fall of the colossal Roman Empire. As the most recent in a long line of caesars, a young Roman child, Romulus ([[Performer~P363362~Thomas Sangster~thomassangster]]), is poised to inherit the throne -- until Germanic forces invade, lay siege to the city, and brutally murder his parents. At the last second, with his life hanging by a thread, Romulus receives the protection of military commander Aurelius ([[Performer~P23590~Colin Firth~colinfirth]]), who assembles a cadre of rebels, including Romulus, the boy's magician instructor, Ambrosinus ([[Performer~P38383~Sir Ben Kingsley~benkingsley]]), and the Indian female warrior Mira ([[Performer~P232903~Aishwarya Rai~aishwaryarai]]). After Romulus discovers an enchanted sword once claimed by Julius Caesar, the troupe heads out to the province of Britannia and Hadrian's Wall. There, the men will regroup with the Ninth Legion and plan one final triumphant stand against the barbarian invaders of Rome. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

  • Release date:August 17, 2007

Cast

Colin Firth
as Aurelius
Ben Kingsley
as Ambrosinus
Aishwarya Rai
as Mira
Peter Mullan
as Odoacer
Kevin McKidd
as Wulfilla
John Hannah
as Nestor
Thomas Sangster
as Romulus
Iain Glen
as Orestes
James Cosmo
as Hrothgar
Harry Van Gorkum
as Vortgyn
Alexander Siddig
as Theodorus Andronikus

Crew

Doug Lefler
Director
Tarak Ben Ammar
Producer
Raffaella de Laurentiis
Producer
Dino de Laurentiis
Producer
Tom Butterworth
Screenwriter
Peter Rader
Screen Story
Jez Butterworth
Screenwriter
Carlo Carlei
Screen Story
Marco Pontecorvo
Cinematographer
Patrick Doyle
Composer (Music Score)
Simon Cozens
Editor
Carmelo Agate
Production Designer
Chris Curling
Co-producer
Philip Robertson
Co-producer
Taoufik Guiga
Co-producer
Iveta Hrdlovicova
Co-producer
Lorenzo De Maio
Co-producer
Duncan Reid
Executive Producer
James Clayton
Executive Producer
Harvey Weinstein
Executive Producer
Paolo Scalabrino
Costume Designer
Lucy Bevan
Casting
Salvatore Morello
Co-Executive Producer
Advertisement