Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Last Exit to Brooklyn Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P110727~Hubert Selby~hubertselbyjr]]'s controversial 1964 cult novel Last Exit To Brooklyn is adapted to the big screen by director [[Performer~P88645~Ulrich Edel~uliedel]] in this drama. The story is set in the early 1950s in Red Hook, Brooklyn, a blighted waterfront town of boarded-up storefronts and striking factory workers. Harry Black ([[Performer~P215659~Stephen Lang~stephenlang]]), a machinist put in charge of the local union strike office, suddenly finds himself one of the most important men in town. But for all his sudden power, there's something disturbing Harry. He rejects his wife's caresses and discovers himself infatuated with a frail young man who calls himself Georgette ([[Performer~P2418~Alexis Arquette~alexisarquette]]), who has a crush on well-muscled hood Vinnie ([[Performer~P19422~Peter Dobson~peterdobson]]). But Harry doesn't confront his problem head-on until he falls head-over-heels in love with Regina ([[Performer~P78543~Zette~zette]]), a local transvestite. As the strike becomes more intense, Harry sinks deeper into an obsessive affair with Regina, using the strike fund to shower him/her with personal gifts. As Harry sinks into obsession, other characters float through the decaying streets. There's the attractive prostitute Tralala ([[Performer~P41672~Jennifer Jason Leigh~jenniferjasonleigh]]) who falls in love with a sailor about to be shipped overseas. There is also an agreeable young man named Tommy ([[Performer~P15249~John Costelloe~johncostelloe]]) who is beaten by his soon-to-be father-in-law Big Joe ([[Performer~P78134~Burt Young~burtyoung]]) for making his daughter Donna ([[Performer~P40071~Ricki Lake~rickilake]]) pregnant. Everything comes to a tragic conclusion as the workers' strike escalates into a violent confrontation. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

  • Release date:May 2, 1990

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
New York Film Critics Circle Jennifer Jason Leigh Best Supporting Actress 1990 Winner

Cast

Stephen Lang
as Harry Black
Jennifer Jason Leigh
as Tralala
Burt Young
as Big Joe
Peter Dobson
as Vinnie
Jerry Orbach
as Boyce
Alexis Arquette
as Georgette
Stephen Baldwin
as Sal
Cameron Johann
as Spook
Jason Andrews
as Tony
Christopher Murney
as Paulie
Bob Martana
as Truck Driver
Robert Weil
as Alex
David Warshofsky
Lisa Passero
as Teresa
Colleen Flynn
as Ruthie
Robert Kramer
as Fred
Mark Boone, Jr.
as Willie
Frank Vincent
as Priest
Christopher Curry
as Riot Police Officer
Hubert Selby, Jr.
as Hit-Run Driver
John Costelloe
as Tommy
Daniel Beer
as Tral's Trick
Sam Rockwell
as Al
Mike Starr
as Security Guard
Camille Saviola
as Ella
Rutanya Alda
as Georgette's Mother
Ray Gill
as Dowland
Zette
as Regina
James Lorinz
as Freddy
Frank Military
as Steve
Joseph Carberry
as Uptown Bartender
Ricki Lake
as Donna
Al Shannon
Maia Danziger
as Mary Black
Sylvie Spector
as Submarine Annie
Bruce Smolanoff
as Lost Soldier
Rick Aiello
James Harper
as Cop

Crew

Uli Edel
Director
Herman Weigel
Producer
Bernd Eichinger
Producer
Hubert Selby, Jr.
Book Author
Desmond Nakano
Screenwriter
Stefan Czapsky
Cinematographer
Peter Przygodda
Editor
David Chapman
Production Designer
Mark Haack
Art Director
Jake Eberts
Associate Producer
Carol Oditz
Costume Designer
Kathryn Bihr
Makeup
Advertisement