Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Lara Croft Tomb Raider: The Cradle of Life Details


This sequel to the 2001 hit video-game adaptation finds Jan de Bont stepping in for director Simon West, helming his first feature since 1999's Simon West. From a script by first-time scribe Dean Georgaris, Lara Croft: Tomb Raider: The Cradle of Life finds Angelina Jolie once again portraying the titular curvaceous adventurer. But where the first film saw Croft in a race against the Illuminati to acquire an elusive relic that offers control over life and death, this entry in the series follows the heroine as she ventures to an underwater temple in search of the mythological Pandora's Box. Unfortunately, once she secures the legendary artifact, it is promptly stolen by the villainous leader of a Chinese crime syndicate. It is then up to Lara to get the box back before an evil mastermind gets hold of it and uses it to construct a weapon of catastrophic capabilities. Gerard Butler, Djimon Hounsou, and Noah Taylor head up the supporting cast. ~ Matthew Tobey, Rovi

  • Release date:June 15, 2001


Angelina Jolie
as Lara Croft
Gerard Butler
as Terry Sheridan
Ciarán Hinds
as Jonathan Reiss
Chris Barrie
as Hillary
Noah Taylor
as Bryce
Djimon Hounsou
as Kosa
Til Schweiger
as Sean
Simon Yam
as Chen Lo
Terence Yin
as Xien
Daniel Caltagirone
as Nicholas Petraki
Fabiano Martell
as Jimmy Petraki
Jonathan Coyne
as Gus Petraki
Daniel Caltagirone
as Nicholas Petraki
Fabiano Martell
as Jimmy Petraki


Jan de Bont
Lawrence Gordon
Lloyd Levin
Dean Georgaris
David Tattersall
Alan Silvestri
Composer (Music Score)
Peter Afterman
Musical Direction/Supervision
Michael Kahn
Kirk M. Petruccelli
Production Designer
Paul Kirby
Art Director
Alan Tomkins
Art Director
Dennis Bosher
Art Director
Frank Walsh
Art Director
John Fenner
Supervising Art Director
James Morahan
Art Director
Louis A. Stroller
Shelly Clippard
Associate Producer
Holly Goline
Associate Producer
Jeremy Heath-Smith
Executive Producer
Sonja Klaus
Set Designer
Lindy Hemming
Costume Designer
Steve Boeddeker
Sound/Sound Designer
Simon Kaye
Sound/Sound Designer
Chris Munro
Sound/Sound Designer
Randy Thom
Sound/Sound Designer
Cliff Lanning
First Assistant Director
John Hubbard
Dan Hubbard
Chris Corbould
Special Effects Supervisor
Steve Begg
Visual Effects Supervisor
Simon Crane
Stunts Coordinator
Simon Crane
Second Unit Director
Steve Boeddeker
Supervising Sound Editor