Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Labor Day Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P59541~Jason Reitman~jasonreitman]]'s Labor Day, adapted from the novel of the same name by [[Performer~P613517~Joyce Maynard~joycemaynard]], stars [[Performer~P198332~Kate Winslet~katewinslet]] as Adele, an emotionally shaky single mom to Henry ([[Performer~P562653~Gattlin Griffith~gattlingriffith]]). As the twosome shop for clothes Henry will wear when he begins seventh grade after the long Labor Day weekend, the boy is accosted by Frank ([[Performer~P8657~Josh Brolin~joshbrolin]]), an escaped convict with a bleeding wound on his stomach. Frank manipulates Adele into letting him hide out at their house, and soon the seemingly scary man shows a strong domestic side and, in just a few days, develops a deep bond with both Adele and Frank. Co-starring [[Performer~P66362~Brooke Smith~brookesmith]], [[Performer~P233015~J.K. Simmons~jksimmons]], and [[Performer~P196872~Tobey Maguire~tobeymaguire]], Labor Day screened at the 2013 Toronto International Film Festival. ~ Perry Seibert, Rovi

  • Release date:January 31, 2014

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Kate Winslet Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Drama 2013 Nominee

Cast

Josh Brolin
as Frank Chambers
Kate Winslet
as Adele Wheeler
Gattlin Griffith
as Henry Wheeler
Brooke Smith
as Evelyn
Clark Gregg
as Gerald
Tobey Maguire
as Adult Henry Wheeler/Narrator
James Van Der Beek
as Officer Treadwell
J.K. Simmons
as Mr. Jervis
Alexie Gilmore
as Marjorie
Dylan Minnette
as Henry (16)

Crew

Jason Reitman
Director
Jason Reitman
Producer
Helen Estabrook
Producer
Lianne Halfon
Producer
Russell Smith
Producer
Joyce Maynard
Book Author
Jason Reitman
Screenwriter
Eric Steelberg
Cinematographer
Randall Poster
Musical Direction/Supervision
Rolfe Kent
Composer (Music Score)
Steve Saklad
Production Designer
Jason Blumenfeld
Co-producer
Mark Roybal
Executive Producer
Michael Beugg
Executive Producer
Jeffrey Clifford
Executive Producer
Steven Rales
Executive Producer
Daniel Glicker
Costume Designer
Jessica Kelly
Casting
Advertisement

Other movies like this