Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Kung Fu Panda Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A clumsy panda bear becomes an unlikely kung fu hero when a treacherous enemy spreads chaos throughout the countryside in this animated martial arts adventure featuring the voices of [[Performer~P195232~Jack Black~jackblack]], [[Performer~P94585~Dustin Hoffman~dustinhoffman]], [[Performer~P36009~Angelina Jolie~angelinajolie]], and [[Performer~P84650~Jackie Chan~jackiechan]]. On the surface, Po (voice of [[Performer~P195232~Black~jackblack]]) may look like just another portly panda bear, but beneath his fur he bears the mark of the chosen one. By day, Po works faithfully in his family's noodle shop, but by night he dreams of becoming a true master of the martial arts. Now an ancient prophecy has come to pass, and Po realizes that he is the only one who can save his people from certain destruction. With time running short and malevolent snow leopard Tai Lung (Ian McShane ) closing in, Furious Five legends Tigress ([[Performer~P36009~Jolie~angelinajolie]]), Crane (David Cross ), Mantis ([[Performer~P297862~Seth Rogen~sethrogen]]), Viper ([[Performer~P267831~Lucy Liu~lucyliu]]), Monkey ([[Performer~P84650~Chan~jackiechan]]), and their wise sensei, Master Shifu ([[Performer~P94585~Hoffman~dustinhoffman]]), all draw on their vast knowledge of fighting skills in order to transform a lumbering panda bear into a lethal fighting machine. Now, if the noble Po can master the martial arts and somehow transform his greatest weaknesses into his greatest strengths, he will fulfill his destiny as the hero who saved his people during their darkest hour. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:June 6, 2008

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences John Stevenson Best Animated Feature 2008 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Mark Osborne Best Animated Feature 2008 Nominee

Cast

Jack Black
as Po
Dustin Hoffman
as Master Shifu
Angelina Jolie
as Tigress
Ian McShane
as Tai Lung
Seth Rogen
as Mantis
Lucy Liu
as Viper
David Cross
as Crane
Randall Duk Kim
as Oogway
James Hong
as Mr. Ping
Dan Fogler
as Zeng
Michael Clarke Duncan
as Commander Vachir
Jackie Chan
as Monkey

Crew

John Stevenson
Director
Mark Osborne
Director
Melissa Cobb
Producer
Cyrus Voris
Screen Story
Jonathan Aibel
Screenwriter
Glenn Berger
Screenwriter
Ethan Reiff
Screen Story
John Powell
Composer (Music Score)
Hans Zimmer
Composer (Music Score)
Raymond Zibach
Production Designer
Tang Khen Heng
Art Director
Jonathan Aibel
Co-producer
Glenn Berger
Co-producer
Kristen Reed
Associate Producer
Bill Damaschke
Executive Producer
Leslee Feldman
Casting
Ethan Van der Ryn
Supervising Sound Editor
Erik Aadahl
Supervising Sound Editor
Rodolphe Guenoden
Fights Choreographer
Rodolphe Guenoden
Supervising Animator
Markus Manninen
Visual Effects Supervisor
Nathan Loofbourrow
Character Design
Advertisement