Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Krippendorf's Tribe Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P94679~Todd Holland~toddholland]] directed this [[Performer~P106217~Charlie Peters~charliepeters]] adaptation of [[Performer~P313770~Frank Parkin~frankparkin]]'s novel. Respected anthropologist James Krippendorf ([[Performer~P88268~Richard Dreyfuss~richarddreyfuss]]) and his wife, Jennifer ([[Performer~P76372~Barbara Williams~barbarawilliams]]), bring their three children along during their failed search in New Guinea for a lost tribe. After Jennifer's death, James reaches a zero point back in the U.S., having spent all his foundation grant money raising the kids as a single parent. Scheduled to lecture at a college and fearful he could be charged with misuse of grant funds, James concocts an imaginary tribe, the Shelmikedmu, and fakes a 16 mm "documentary" film, casting his children as tribe members and editing in footage of a legit New Guinea tribe. Anthropologist Veronica Micelli ([[Performer~P236516~Jenna Elfman~jennaelfman]]) contacts cable-TV producer Henry Spivey ([[Performer~P68305~David Ogden Stiers~davidogdenstiers]]), forcing James to continue creating fraudulent footage as the rival Ruth Allen ([[Performer~P114336~Lily Tomlin~lilytomlin]]) gets suspicious. It seems a shame this racially insensitive film was made, while the once-announced plans to film anthropologist Kenneth Good's nonfiction Into the Heart (Simon & Schuster, 1991) never led to a production. ~ Bhob Stewart, Rovi

  • Release date:January 1, 1900

Cast

Richard Dreyfuss
as James Krippendorf
Jenna Elfman
as Veronica Micelli
Natasha Lyonne
as Shelly
Gregory Smith
as Mickey
Stephen Root
as Gerald Adams
Elaine Stritch
as Irene Harding
Tom Poston
as Gordon Harding
David Ogden Stiers
as Henry Spivey
Lily Tomlin
as Ruth Allen
Doris Belack
as President Porter
Julio Oscar Mechoso
as Simon Alonso
Siobhan Fallon
as Lori Hayward
Barbara Williams
as Jennifer Krippendorf
Zakes Mokae
as Sulukim

Crew

Todd Holland
Director
Larry Brezner
Producer
Charlie Peters
Screenwriter
Frank Parkin
Book Author
Dean Cundey
Cinematographer
Bruce Broughton
Composer (Music Score)
Jon Poll
Editor
Bill Rea
Art Director
Ross Canter
Executive Producer
Whitney Green
Executive Producer
Karen Manthey
Set Designer
Isis Mussenden
Costume Designer
Ellen H. Schwartz
First Assistant Director
Jackie Burch
Casting
Advertisement