Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Kings of the Sun Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

In this historical adventure saga, Balam ([[Performer~P12080~George Chakiris~georgechakiris]]) is the son of the ruler of the Mayan people; when his father is killed in battle, Balam succeeds his father as King and leads his followers out of Mexico to a coastal region. The Mayan's new home, however, is already the province of a hostile Indian tribe led by Black Eagle ([[Performer~P9264~Yul Brynner~yulbrynner]]), who leads a raid against the Mayan's camp. Balam is severely injured, but Black Eagle's wife Ixchel ([[Performer~P23338~Shirley Ann Field~shirleyannfield]]) tends to his wounds, and eventually the two leaders agree to settle their differences and coexist in peace. Hunac Ceel ([[Performer~P27801~Leo Gordon~leogordon]]), Balam's old nemesis, is not so forgiving. He has followed the Mayans to their new home, where he and his troops mount a furious attack, with the Indians and the Mayans leading a united front against the invaders. Kings of the Sun also features [[Performer~P4405~Richard Basehart~richardbasehart]], [[Performer~P18896~Brad Dexter~braddexter]], and [[Performer~P103605~Barry Morse~barrymorse]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Cast

Yul Brynner
as Black Eagle
George Chakiris
as Balam
Shirley Ann Field
as Ixchel
Richard Basehart
as Ah Min
Brad Dexter
as Ah Haleb
Barry Morse
as Ah Zok
Leo Gordon
as Hunac Ceel
Rudy Solari
as Pitz
Ford Rainey
as The chief
Victoria Vetri
as Ixzubin
Armando Silvestre
as Isatai

Crew

J. Lee Thompson
Director
Lewis Rachmil
Producer
James R. Webb
Screenwriter
Elliott Arnold
Screen Story
Elliott Arnold
Screenwriter
Joe MacDonald
Cinematographer
Elmer Bernstein
Composer (Music Score)
Norma Koch
Costume Designer
Emile LaVigne
Makeup
Advertisement