Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Kid Millions Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Brooklyn tugboat worker Eddie ([[Performer~P10700~Eddie Cantor~eddiecantor]]), bullied and cowed by his tough-guy stepfather and stepbrothers (a la [[Performer~P99974~Harold Lloyd~haroldlloyd]]'s [[Feature~V176268~The Kid Brother~thekidbrother]]), inherits $77 million from his uncle, an Egyptologist. Con artist Dot ([[Performer~P48578~Ethel Merman~ethelmerman]]) wants to get her lunchhooks on the money, and to this end offers herself as Eddie's adopted mother (never mind that she's nearly 20 years younger), intending to have her thuggish brother Louie ([[Performer~P34258~Warren Hymer~warrenhymer]]) bump off our hero at the first opportunity. The nonsensical plotline ends up with Eddie, Dot, Louie, pompous Southern colonel Larrabee ([[Performer~P13150~Berton Churchill~bertonchurchill]]), and nominal romantic leads Jerry ([[Performer~P51445~George Murphy~georgemurphy]] in his film debut) and Jane ([[Performer~P66971~Ann Sothern~annsothern]]) trapped in the palace of Arab potentate Mulhulla ([[Performer~P30888~Paul Harvey~paulharvey]]). The better-than-average comic banter includes some funny bits between [[Performer~P10700~Cantor~eddiecantor]] and [[Performer~P69027~Eve Sully~evesully]], of the comedy team of "[[Performer~P6791~Block~jesseblock]] and [[Performer~P69027~Sully~evesully]]" (her husband-partner [[Performer~P6791~Jesse Block~jesseblock]] is also in the picture, but just barely). Spotted among the featured players in Kid Millions are such "[[Performer~P127160~Our Gang~ourgangkids]]" members as [[Performer~P4775~Stymie Beard~matthewstymiebeard]], [[Performer~P4905~Scotty Beckett~scottybeckett]] and [[Performer~P7234~Tommy Bond~tommybond]], and there's a specialty by the [[Performer~P52530~Nicholas Brothers~thenicholasbrothers]] during [[Performer~P10700~Cantor~eddiecantor]]'s obligatory "blackface" number; and yes, that's [[Performer~P3574~Lucille Ball~lucilleball]] as a blonde Goldwyn Girl in the harem sequence. PS: According to [[Performer~P48578~Ethel Merman~ethelmerman]], the film's elaborate Technicolor ice-cream factory finale, in which Eddie allows dozens of tenement kids to gorge themselves on his tasty confections, posed censorship problems: while producer [[Performer~P91976~Sam Goldwyn~samuelgoldwyn]] was allowed to show the little boys with comically extended stomachs, he was not permitted to do so with the little girls, for fear that the audience might think the female moppets were pregnant! ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:November 10, 1934

Cast

Stanley Fields
as Oscar
Eddie Cantor
as Eddie Wilson, Jr.
Ann Sothern
as Joan Larrabee
Ethel Merman
as Dot Clark
Otto Hoffman
as Khoot
Paul Harvey
as Sheik Mulhulla
George Murphy
as Jerry Lane
Warren Hymer
as Louie the Lug
Berton Churchill
as Col. Larrabee
Clarence Muse
as Col. Witherspoon
Leonard Kibrick
as Leonard
Henry Kolker
as Attorney
Theodore Lorch
as Native Fakir
Edgar Kennedy
as Herman
Guy Usher
as William Slade
The Nicholas Brothers
as Specialty Number
Lon Poff
as Recorder
Louise Carver
as Native Woman
Harry C. Bradley
as Bartender
Wally Albright
as Children on Tug
Lucille Ball
as A 1934 Goidwyn Girl
John Kelly
as Adolph
Bobby Jordan
as Tourist
Noble Johnson
as Attendant
Tor Johnson
as Torturer
Charlie Hall
as Native
Harrison Greene
as Spielers
Larry Fisher
as Warrior

Crew

Roy Del Ruth
Director
Samuel Goldwyn
Producer
Nat Perrin
Screenwriter
Arthur Sheekman
Screenwriter
Nunnally Johnson
Screenwriter
Ray Rennahan
Cinematographer
Ray June
Cinematographer
Alfred Newman
Musical Direction/Supervision
Stuart Heisler
Editor
Richard Day
Art Director
Omar Kiam
Costume Designer
Advertisement