Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Kid from Brooklyn Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P96949~Danny Kaye~dannykaye]]'s The Kid From Brooklyn is a virtual scene-for-scene remake of [[Performer~P42819~Harold Lloyd~haroldlloydjr]]'s [[Feature~V32683~The Milky Way~lavoielactée]] (1936), with music and Technicolor added to the proceedings. [[Performer~P96949~Kaye~dannykaye]] is cast as timid milkman Burleigh Sullivan, who through a fluke knocks out prizefighting champion Speed McFarlane ([[Performer~P13859~Steve Cochran~stevecochran]]). Sensing a swell publicity angle, McFarlane's manager Gabby Sloan ([[Performer~P105~Walter Abel~walterabel]]) promotes Burleigh as the next middleweight champ-and to insure this victory, Gabby fixes several pre-title bouts. Unaware that his fighting prowess is a sham, Burleigh develops a swelled head, which alienates him from everyone he cares about, including his sweetheart Polly Pringle ([[Performer~P46751~Virginia Mayo~virginiamayo]]). The truth comes out during the climactic title fight, but a chastened Burleigh emerges victorious thanks to a series of incredible plot twists. The strong supporting cast includes [[Performer~P73296~Vera-Ellen~veraellen]] as Burleigh's sister Susie, [[Performer~P2128~Eve Arden~evearden]] as Gabby's wisecracking girl friday Ann Westley, and, repeating his role from [[Feature~V32683~Milky Way~lavoielactée]], [[Performer~P67551~Lionel Stander~lionelstander]] as Speed's lamebrained trainer Spider Schultz. [[Performer~P96949~Danny Kaye~dannykaye]] does his best to play Burleigh Sullivan rather than [[Performer~P96949~Danny Kaye~dannykaye]], though his efforts are undermined by the interpolated "specialty" number "Pavlova," which just plain doesn't belong in this picture. Like [[Feature~V32683~The Milky Way~lavoielactée]], The Kid From Brooklyn was adapted from the Broadway play by [[Performer~P108836~Lynn Root~lynnroot]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Danny Kaye
as Burleigh Sullivan
Virginia Mayo
as Polly Pringle
Vera-Ellen
as Susie Sullivan
Steve Cochran
as Speed McFarlane
Eve Arden
as Ann Westley
Lionel Stander
as Spider Schultz
Walter Abel
as Gabby Sloan
Fay Bainter
as Mrs. E. Winthrop LeMoyne
Clarence Kolb
as Wilbur Austin
Victor Cutler
as Photographer
Charles Cane
as Willard
Jerome Cowan
as Fight Ring Announcer
Knox Manning
as Radio Announcer
Kay Thompson
as Matron
Johnny Downs
as M.C.
Billy Nelson
James Carlisle
as Mrs. LeMoyne's Friend
Jan Bryant
Shirley Ballard
William Forrest
Joyce MacKenzie
Donald Kerr
Billy Bletcher
Robert Strong
Torben Meyer
William Newell
Betty Alexander
Hal K. Dawson
Lester Dorr
Mary Forbes
George Chandler
as Reporter
Frank Moran
as Fight Manager
Jack Norton
as Guest
Sid Saylor
Billy Wayne
Ralph Dunn
as Seconds
Betty Blythe
Vonne Lester
John Indrisano
as Boxing Instructor
George Sherwood
William Benedict
Pierre Watkin
as Mr. LeMoyne
Eric Wilton
Jack Gargan
Dulce Daye
Al Hill
Jay Eaton

Crew

Norman Z. McLeod
Director
Samuel Goldwyn
Producer
Don Hartman
Screenwriter
Lynn Root
Play Author
Frank R. Butler
Play Author
Harry Clork
Play Author
Grover Jones
Play Author
Melville Shavelson
Screenwriter
Gregg Toland
Cinematographer
Sammy Cahn
Composer (Music Score)
Sammy Cahn
Songwriter
Jule Styne
Composer (Music Score)
Jule Styne
Songwriter
Max Liebman
Composer (Music Score)
Max Liebman
Songwriter
Dan Mandell
Editor
Stewart Chaney
Art Director
Howard Bristol
Set Designer
Miles White
Costume Designer
Advertisement