Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

A Kid for Two Farthings Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

In this sentimental comedy, [[Performer~P107778~Carol Reed~carolreed]] tries for a bit of neo-realist whimsy that takes place in the London slums of Petticoat Lane. The film centers upon Joe ([[Performer~P2565~Jonathan Ashmore~jonathanashmore]]), a six-year-old London East-ender who believes strongly in the magical power of unicorns. Joe and his lonely mother Joanna ([[Performer~P35792~Celia Johnson~celiajohnson]]) live with wily, philosophical tailor Kandinsky ([[Performer~P39163~David Kossoff~davidkossoff]]), who convinces Joe that if he could only come upon the legendary unicorn, he could grant all the wishes of his poor neighbors. Taking Kandinsky at his word, Joe searches the slums for a unicorn. Then one morning, he finds one. Only thing is, it is not a unicorn but a baby goat with a growth sticking out of his forehead. Nevertheless, Joe is convinced that the goat is a unicorn. He gives an elderly homeless man all of his savings for the kid and triumphantly takes it home. Hoping to use the kid to grant all his friends' wishes, he hopes to grant the wishes of Kandinsky, who wants a steam-pressing table, and Sonia ([[Performer~P19773~Diana Dors~dianadors]]), an attractive blonde who wants to marry Sam ([[Performer~P60797~Joe Robinson~joerobinson]]), a handsome wrestler. And finally, he wishes for his father to return home to his lonely mother. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

Cast

Celia Johnson
as Joanne
Diana Dors
as Sonia
David Kossoff
as Kandinsky
Brenda de Banzie
as "Lady" Ruby
Jonathan Ashmore
as Joe
Sydney Tafler
as Madame Rita
Primo Carnera
as Python Macklin
Lou Jacobi
as Blackie Isaacs
Vera Day
as Mimi
Sidney James
as Ice Berg
Irene Handl
as Mrs. Abramowitz
Alfie Bass
as Alf, the Bird Man
Eddie Byrne
as Sylvester, Photographer
Charles Saynor
Harold Berens
as Oliver
Marigold Russell
as 3rd Customer
Barbara Archer
Derek Sydney
as Fortune teller
Harry Baird
as Jamaica
Mollie Palmer
Sam Kydd
Eddie Malin
as Dog man
James Lomas
as Sandwich Board Man
Arthur Lovegrove
as Postman
Bart Allison
as Auctioneer
Nora Gordon
as Customer
Judith Nelmes
as Alf's Customer
Norman Mitchell
as Stallholder
Joseph Tomelty
as Vagrant
Arthur Skinner
Lily Kann
as Mrs. Kramm
Harold Goodwin
as Chick man
Bruce Beeby
as Policeman
Madge Brindley
as Mrs. Quinn
Raymond Rollett
as Breakaway China Stallholder

Crew

Carol Reed
Director
Carol Reed
Producer
Edward Scaife
Cinematographer
Benjamin Frankel
Composer (Music Score)
Bert Bates
Editor
Anna Duse
Costume Designer
Advertisement