Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Kalifornia Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

This debut feature film from music video director [[Performer~P110788~Dominic Sena~dominicsena]] is a romp through the world of serial killing, which in its bleakness and moral bankruptcy looks backwards to [[Performer~P100893~Terrence Malick~terrencemalick]]'s [[Feature~V3757~Badlands~badlands]] and forward to [[Performer~P112907~Oliver Stone~oliverstone]]'s [[Feature~V132230~Natural Born Killers~naturalbornkillers]]. [[Performer~P24189~Michelle Forbes~michelleforbes]] plays hip, Mapplethorpe-esque photographer Carrie Laughlin, who wants to move to California for a fresh start. Her boyfriend, Brian Kessler ([[Performer~P20329~David Duchovny~davidduchovny]]), is a writer who has an idea for a new book, a travel tome on the sites of serial murders. The two plan to go on a cross-country tour of the murder sites, with Brian writing the commentary and Carrie taking the pictures. But they need a couple to share the driving expenses; enter Grayce ([[Performer~P56988~Brad Pitt~bradpitt]]) and his girlfriend, Adele ([[Performer~P42230~Juliette Lewis~juliettelewis]], in a warm-up for her role in [[Feature~V132230~Natural Born Killers~naturalbornkillers]]). Grayce is an ex-con looking to jump parole, while Adele is a childlike naïf. Soon the four are off to California, but the yuppie couple doesn't realize how close they are to their serial killer topic. It seems Grayce has murdered his landlord before their trip and bodies begin piling up disturbingly behind them as they make their way across the country. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

Cast

Brad Pitt
as Early Grayce
Juliette Lewis
as Adele Corners
David Duchovny
as Brian Kessler
Michelle Forbes
as Carrie Laughlin
Sierra Pecheur
as Mrs. Musgrave
Judson Vaughn
as Parole Officer
Meredith Brasher
as Kim
Carol Lewis
John Zarchen
as Peter
Eric Stenson
as Young Cracker
John Dullaghan
as Mr.Musgrave
David Milford
as Driver
Ron Kuhlman
as Male Officer
Catherine Larson
as Teenage Girl
Lois Hall
as Mrs.Musgrave
Pat Golden
Brett Rice
as Police Officer

Crew

Dominic Sena
Director
Sigurjon Sighvatsson
Producer
Aris McGarry
Producer
Steve Golin
Producer
Gregory Goodman
Producer
Tim Metcalfe
Screen Story
Tim Metcalfe
Screenwriter
Stephen Levy
Screen Story
Stephen Levy
Screenwriter
Bojan Bazelli
Cinematographer
Carter Burwell
Composer (Music Score)
Martin Hunter
Editor
Jeff Mann
Art Director
M. James Kouf Jr.
Executive Producer
Lynn Bigelow
Executive Producer
Kate J. Sullivan
Set Designer
Thomas Patrick Smith
First Assistant Director
Eric Mofford
First Assistant Director
Carol Lewis
Casting
Kevin Bartnof
Foley Artist
Michelle Buhler
Makeup
Advertisement