Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Junebug Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P220425~Phil Morrison~philmorrison]], who collaborated with screenwriter [[Performer~P424635~Angus MacLachlan~angusmaclachlan]] for his acclaimed 1990 short, Tater Tomater, joins forces with [[Performer~P424635~MacLachlan~angusmaclachlan]] again for his feature-film debut, Junebug. Junebug takes place in rural North Carolina. Madeleine ([[Performer~P17230~Embeth Davidtz~embethdavidtz]]), a sophisticated Chicagoan who owns a gallery devoted to "outsider art," goes south in an effort to woo an eccentric painter ([[Performer~P70022~Frank Hoyt Taylor~frankhoyttaylor]]) to her gallery. She brings along her husband, George ([[Performer~P228583~Alessandro Nivola~alessandronivola]]), a native of the area, and the couple stays with his family. Peg ([[Performer~P75690~Celia Weston~celiaweston]]), George's mother, gives Madeleine a rather chilly greeting, and seems to think she's a poor match for her eldest son, while his father, Eugene ([[Performer~P76806~Scott Wilson~scottwilson]]), is a bit more welcoming, in his quiet way. George's younger brother, Johnny ([[Performer~P373223~Ben McKenzie~benjaminmckenzie]]), is still living at home with his very pregnant wife, Ashley ([[Performer~P273224~Amy Adams~amyadams]]), and seems to feel nothing but resentment for George. For her part, Ashley is a gregarious young woman, and she's immediately smitten with her "new sister." Junebug was selected by the Museum of Modern Art and the Film Society of Lincoln Center for inclusion in the 2005 edition of New Directors/New Films. ~ Josh Ralske, Rovi

  • Release date:August 5, 2005

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Independent Spirit Awards Angus MacLachlan Best First Screenplay 2005 Nominee
Chicago Film Critics Association Phil Morrison Most Promising Director 2005 Nominee
Los Angeles Film Critics Association Amy Adams Best Supporting Actress (Runner-up) 2005 Winner
Broadcast Film Critics Association Amy Adams Best Supporting Actress 2005 Winner
National Society of Film Critics Amy Adams Best Supporting Actress 2005 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Amy Adams Best Supporting Actress 2005 Winner
Sundance Film Festival Amy Adams Special Jury Prize for Acting 2005 Winner
San Francisco Film Critics Circle Amy Adams Best Supporting Actress 2005 Winner
Screen Actors Guild Amy Adams Best Supporting Actress 2005 Nominee
Online Film Critics Association Amy Adams Best Supporting Actress 2005 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Amy Adams Best Supporting Actress 2005 Nominee
Chicago Film Critics Association Amy Adams Best Supporting Actress 2005 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Mike S. Ryan Producers Award 2005 Nominee

Crew

Phil Morrison
Director
Mike S. Ryan
Producer
Mindy Goldberg
Producer
Angus MacLachlan
Screenwriter
Peter Donahue
Cinematographer
Yo La Tengo
Composer (Music Score)
Joe Klotz
Editor
David Doernberg
Production Designer
Daniel Rappaport
Executive Producer
Ethan D. Leder
Executive Producer
Dany Wolf
Executive Producer
Mark P. Clein
Executive Producer
Danielle Kays
Costume Designer
Jeffree Bloomer
Sound/Sound Designer
Mark Bennett
Casting
Payton Dunham
Location Manager
Advertisement