Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Jumping Jacks Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Although [[Feature~V111786~The Stooge~thestooge]] had been filmed right after [[Performer~P162792~Martin~martin]] and [[Performer~P162377~Lewis~lewis]]' [[Feature~V108679~Sailor Beware~sailorbeware]], the film was temporarily shelved so that the team could continue their winning streak of military comedies with Jumping Jacks. This time, [[Performer~P121802~Dean Martin~deanmartin]] plays Chick Allen, a paratrooper-in-training whose commanding officer intends to do away with all camp variety shows. In desperation, Chick sends for his old nightclub partner Hap Smith ([[Performer~P99633~Jerry Lewis~jerrylewis]]) to change the CO's mind. In order to gain entry to the military base, Hap is forced to pose as a GI, and thus the plot proper gets under way. Most of the "awkward squad" gags are straight out of [[Performer~P78913~Abbott~lbabbott]] and [[Performer~P15240~Costello~loucostello]], with [[Performer~P162377~Lewis~lewis]] messing up at each and every turn while [[Performer~P162792~Martin~martin]] lags behind for damage control. The film concludes with a routine from [[Performer~P69~Abbot~budabbott]] and [[Performer~P15240~Costello~loucostello]]'s Keep 'Em Flying, wherein [[Performer~P162792~Martin~martin]] and [[Performer~P162377~Lewis~lewis]] bail out from a plane in flight, with one parachute between them. [[Performer~P237051~Robert Strauss~robertstrauss]] repeats his [[Feature~V108679~Sailor Beware~sailorbeware]] duties as [[Performer~P162377~Lewis~lewis]]' irascible topkick, while nominal leading lady [[Performer~P24972~Mona Freeman~monafreeman]] does practically nothing magnificently. Dean's songs include the deathless "Do the Parachute Jump". ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Dean Martin
as Chick Allen
Jerry Lewis
as Hap Smith
Mona Freeman
as Betty Carter
Don DeFore
as Pvt. Kelsey
Robert Strauss
as Sgt. McCluskey
Richard Erdman
as Dogface Dolan
Ray Teal
as Gen. Timmons
Marcy McGuire
as Julia Loring
Danny Arnold
as Pvt. Evans
Alex Gerry
as Earl White
Edwin Max
as Sam Gilmore

Crew

Norman Taurog
Director
Hal B. Wallis
Producer
James Allardice
Screenwriter
Richard Weil
Screenwriter
Robert Lees
Screenwriter
Daniel L. Fapp
Cinematographer
Jerry Livingston
Composer (Music Score)
Jerry Livingston
Songwriter
Mack David
Composer (Music Score)
Mack David
Songwriter
Hal Pereira
Art Director
Henry Bumstead
Art Director
Sam Comer
Set Designer
Emile Kuri
Set Designer
Edith Head
Costume Designer
Robert Sidney
Choreography
Advertisement