Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Judgment at Nuremberg Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

After the end of World War II, the world gradually became aware of the full extent of the war crimes perpetrated by the Third Reich. In 1948, a series of trials were held in Nuremberg, Germany, by an international tribunal, headed by American legal and military officials, with the intent of bringing to justice those guilty of crimes against humanity. However, by that time most of the major figures of the Nazi regime were either dead or long missing, and in the resulting legal proceedings American judges often found themselves confronting the question of how much responsibility someone held who had "just followed orders." Judgment at Nuremberg is a dramatized version of the proceedings at one of these trials, in which Judge Dan Haywood ([[Performer~P71578~Spencer Tracy~spencertracy]]) is overseeing the trials of four German judges -- most notably Dr. Ernst Janning ([[Performer~P98588~Burt Lancaster~burtlancaster]]) and Emil Hahn ([[Performer~P38686~Werner Klemperer~wernerklemperer]]) -- accused of knowingly sentencing innocent men to death in collusion with the Nazis. Representing the defense is attorney Hans Rolfe ([[Performer~P110140~Maximilian Schell~maximilianschell]]), while prosecuting the accused is U.S. Col. Tad Lawson ([[Performer~P76135~Richard Widmark~richardwidmark]]). As the trial goes on, both the visiting Americans and their reluctant German hosts often find themselves facing the legacy of the war, and how both of their nations have been irrevocably changed by it. Judgment at Nuremberg also features notable supporting performances by [[Performer~P19148~Marlene Dietrich~marlenedietrich]], [[Performer~P25962~Judy Garland~judygarland]], and [[Performer~P13682~Montgomery Clift~montgomeryclift]]. Originally written and produced as a play for television, the screen version of Judgment at Nuremberg was nominated for 11 Academy Awards, with [[Performer~P110140~Maximilian Schell~maximilianschell]] and [[Performer~P101047~Abby Mann~abbymann]] taking home Oscars for (respectively) Best Actor and Best Adapted Screenplay. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:December 19, 1961

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Rudolph Sternad Best Black and White Art Direction 1961 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Spencer Tracy Best Actor 1961 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Stanley Kramer Best Director 1961 Winner
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Stanley Kramer Best British Film 1961 Nominee
Directors Guild of America Stanley Kramer Best Director 1961 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Stanley Kramer Best Director 1961 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Stanley Kramer Best Picture 1961 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Abby Mann Best Adapted Screenplay 1961 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Jean Louis Best Black and White Costume Design 1961 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Judy Garland Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture 1961 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Judy Garland Best Supporting Actress 1961 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Maximilian Schell Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Drama 1961 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Maximilian Schell Best Actor 1961 Winner
New York Film Critics Circle Maximilian Schell Best Actor 1961 Winner
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Montgomery Clift Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture 1961 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Montgomery Clift Best Supporting Actor 1961 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Ernest Laszlo Best Black and White Cinematography 1961 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Frederic Knudtson Best Editing 1961 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences George Milo Best Black and White Art Direction 1961 Nominee

Cast

Spencer Tracy
as Judge Dan Haywood
Burt Lancaster
as Ernst Janning
Richard Widmark
as Col. Tad Lawson
Marlene Dietrich
as Mme. Bertholt
Maximilian Schell
as Hans Rolfe
Judy Garland
as Irene Hoffman
Montgomery Clift
as Rudolph Petersen
Werner Klemperer
as Emil Hahn
Edward Binns
as Sen. Burkette
William Shatner
as Capt. Harrison Byers
Torben Meyer
as Werner Lammpe
Ray Teal
as Judge Curtiss Ives
Martin Brandt
as Friedrich Hofstetter
Virginia Christine
as Mrs. Halbestadt
Ben Wright
as Halbestadt
John Wengraf
as Dr. Wieck
Karl Swenson
as Dr. Geuter
Howard Caine
as Wallner
Olga Fabian
as Mrs. Lindnow
Sheila Bromley
as Mrs. Ives
Bernard Kates
as Perkins
Jana Taylor
as Elsa Scheffler
Paul Busch
as Schmidt
Alan Baxter
as Gen. Merrin
Otto Waldis
as Pohl
Joseph Crehan
as Spectator

Crew

Stanley Kramer
Director
Stanley Kramer
Producer
Abby Mann
Screenwriter
Ernest Laszlo
Cinematographer
Art Dunham
Musical Direction/Supervision
Ernest Gold
Composer (Music Score)
Frederic Knudtson
Editor
Rudolph Sternad
Production Designer
Philip Langner
Associate Producer
George Milo
Set Designer
Jean Louis
Costume Designer
Clem Beauchamp
Production Manager
Advertisement