Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Journey into Fear Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P116368~Orson Welles~orsonwelles]] had planned to produce, direct and star in RKO's Journey Into Fear, but prior commitments compelled him to vacate the director's chair in favor of [[Performer~P90227~Norman Foster~normanfoster]]. [[Performer~P15270~Joseph Cotten~josephcotten]], who starred as an American gunnery engineer up to his armpits in international intrigue, adapted the screenplay from the novel by [[Performer~P79503~Eric Ambler~ericambler]]. Targeted for extermination by the Gestapo, [[Performer~P15270~Cotten~josephcotten]] secretly books passage on a steamer bound from Turkey to Batumi. His fellow passengers include dancer [[Performer~P18330~Dolores Del Rio~doloresdelrio]] and her gigolo partner [[Performer~P20739~Jack Durant~jackdurant]]; talkative Frenchwoman [[Performer~P50390~Agnes Moorehead~agnesmoorehead]] and her browbeaten husband [[Performer~P59095~Frank Readick~frankreadick]]; German archaeologist [[Performer~P77687~Eustace Wyatt~eustacewyatt]]; and a secretive, obese, thick-spectacled gent, played by [[Performer~P116368~Orson Welles~orsonwelles]]' business partner [[Performer~P103656~Jack Moss~jackmoss]]. From the outset, it is no secret that [[Performer~P103656~Moss~jackmoss]] is a Nazi assassin. The question: who are his contacts, and how long will it be before [[Performer~P15270~Cotten~josephcotten]] is forced into a showdown? The very complex storyline was made even more so by RKO's decision to pare the film down to 69 minutes; several resultant plot gaps had to be bridged by an ongoing offscreen narration, presented in the form of a letter written by [[Performer~P15270~Cotten~josephcotten]] to his worried wife [[Performer~P74804~Ruth Warrick~ruthwarrick]]. As one can see, virtually the entire roster of [[Performer~P116368~Welles~orsonwelles]]' Mercury Theatre troupe is involved in Journey into Fear. [[Performer~P116368~Welles~orsonwelles]] himself plays colorful Turkish police officer Colonel Haki, while [[Performer~P66248~Everett Sloane~everettsloane]], [[Performer~P14584~Hans Conried~hansconried]] and [[Performer~P4197~Edgar Barrier~edgarbarrier]] essay significant smaller roles. Director [[Performer~P90227~Norman Foster~normanfoster]] so slavishly imitates the patented [[Performer~P116368~Wellesian~orsonwelles]] visual style (following [[Performer~P116368~Welles~orsonwelles]]' pre-production "storyboards" dictating choice of camera angle, lighting etc.) that many historians have assumed that [[Performer~P116368~Welles~orsonwelles]] himself directed the picture. Remade for Canadian TV in 1975. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:August 7, 1975

Cast

Joseph Cotten
as Howard Graham
Dolores Del Rio
as Josette Marlel
Ruth Warrick
as Stephanie Graham
Orson Welles
as Col. Haki
Agnes Moorehead
as Mrs. Mathews
Everett Sloane
as Kopeikin
Edgar Barrier
as Kuveill
Jack Moss
as Banat
Stefan Schnabel
as Purser
Hans Conried
as Qo Lang Sang the Magician
Richard Bennett
as Ship's Captain
Norman Foster
Bill Roberts
as Man

Crew

Norman Foster
Director
Orson Welles
Producer
Orson Welles
Screenwriter
Eric Ambler
Book Author
Joseph Cotten
Screenwriter
Karl Struss
Cinematographer
Harry Ruby
Songwriter
Roy Webb
Composer (Music Score)
Bert Kalmar
Songwriter
Constantin Bakaleinikoff
Musical Direction/Supervision
Mark Robson
Editor
Mark-Lee Kirk
Art Director
Albert S. D'Agostino
Art Director
Darrell Silvera
Set Designer
Ross Dowd
Set Designer
Edward Stevenson
Costume Designer
Vernon Walker
Special Effects
Dewey Starkey
First Assistant Director
Advertisement