Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Jonas in the Desert Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Evidently shot over a decade, this documentary portrait of Lithuanian-born filmmaker-poet [[Performer~P102408~Jonas Mekas~jonasmekas]] examines his life and career as a director ([[Feature~V7123~The Brig~thebrig]], [[Feature~V94093~Guns of the Trees~gunsofthetrees]]), film critic (Village Voice), film historian, magazine editor (Film Culture), teacher (NYU), film distributor (Film-Makers' Cooperative), and founder of Manhattan's leading avant-garde film showcase (Anthology Film Archives). [[Performer~P102408~Mekas~jonasmekas]] had a significant influence on the New York avant-garde, as indicated in interview segments with [[Performer~P54134~Yoko Ono~yokoono]], [[Performer~P115970~Andy Warhol~andywarhol]], [[Performer~P110533~Martin Scorsese~martinscorsese]], [[Performer~P27041~Allen Ginsberg~allenginsberg]], and others. Past films made by [[Performer~P102408~Mekas~jonasmekas]] are seen in clips. German filmmaker [[Performer~P193560~Peter Sempel~petersempel]] has chosen to assemble this profile in an oblique and elliptical manner not inappropriate for his unique subject. ~ Bhob Stewart, Rovi

Crew

Peter Sempel
Director
Peter Sempel
Producer
Peter Sempel
Screenwriter
Jonas Mekas
Screenwriter
Jonas Scholz
Cinematographer
Jonas Mekas
Cinematographer
Peter Sempel
Cinematographer
Frank Blasberg
Cinematographer
Blixa Bargeld
Composer (Music Score)
Kevin Coyne
Composer (Music Score)
Nick Cave
Composer (Music Score)
Peter Sempel
Editor
Ralph McKay
Associate Producer
Ebba Jahn
Sound/Sound Designer
Advertisement