Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Johnny Cool Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

In this offbeat crime drama, Mafia boss Johnny Colini ([[Performer~P98933~Marc Lawrence~marclawrence]]) has run afoul of the law and is being deported back to his native Sicily. Colini is not at all happy about this, and after he saves the life of a young thug, Johnny Giordano ([[Performer~P65643~Henry Silva~henrysilva]]), he knows the perfect way for Giordano to pay him back. Colini teaches Giordano the fine art of being a hit man, then sends him to America as Johnny Cool, with a long list of people who he believes informed on him to the police. Johnny Cool begins knocking off Colini's old enemies with a brutal violence that betrays the cool detachment of his personality; along the way, he meets Dare Guinness ([[Performer~P50172~Elizabeth Montgomery~elizabethmontgomery]]), a beautiful but promiscuous woman with whom Johnny falls in love. Several gangsters wanting to stop Johnny Cool's reign of terror rough up Dare as a warning to the hit man, but this only serves to make him all the more bloodthirsty. Produced in part by [[Performer~P40880~Peter Lawford~peterlawford]], Johnny Cool features an interesting variety of notables as Johnny's associates and victims, including [[Performer~P109992~Telly Savalas~tellysavalas]], [[Performer~P62620~Mort Sahl~mortsahl]], [[Performer~P6334~Joey Bishop~joeybishop]], [[Performer~P3156~Jim Backus~jimbackus]], and [[Performer~P17423~Sammy Davis, Jr.~sammydavisjr]], who also sings the theme song. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:October 2, 1963

Cast

Henry Silva
as Johnny Cool/Giordano
Elizabeth Montgomery
as Dare Guiness
Richard Anderson
as Correspondent
Marc Lawrence
as Johnny Colini
Telly Savalas
as Mr. Santangelo
Joey Bishop
as Used Car Salesman
Jim Backus
as Louis Murphy
Sammy Davis, Jr.
as "Educated"
Brad Dexter
as Lennart Crandall
Wanda Hendrix
as Miss Connolly
Hank Henry
as Bus Driver
John McGiver
as Oby Hinds
Gregory Morton
as Jerry March
Douglas Henderson
as FBI Man
Frank Albertson
as Bill
Elisha Cook, Jr.
as Undertaker
John Dierkes
as "Cripple"
Robert Armstrong
as Gang Member
Katherine Bard
as Mrs. Crandall
Douglas Dumbrille
as Gang Member
George Neise
Joseph Calleia
as Tourist

Crew

William Asher
Director
William Asher
Producer
John McPartland
Book Author
Joseph Landon
Screenwriter
Billy May
Composer (Music Score)
Otto Ludwig
Editor
Advertisement