Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

John Mellencamp: It's About You Details

  • Release Date: Jan 04, 2012
  • Rated:
  • Runtime: 1 hr. 20 min.
  • Genres: Art House/Foreign
  • Cast:John Mellencamp.

FULL SYNOPSIS

In 2009, [[Performer~P102433~John Mellencamp~johnmellencamp]] set out on a summer concert tour with two icons of American music, [[Performer~P88557~Bob Dylan~bobdylan]] and [[Performer~P104264~Willie Nelson~willienelson]]. During the course of the tour, [[Performer~P102433~Mellencamp~johnmellencamp]] and producer [[Performer~P83596~T-Bone Burnett~tboneburnett]] recorded the sessions for [[Performer~P102433~Mellencamp~johnmellencamp]]'s 2010 album {^No Better Than This}. The two men struck upon the idea of recording the album using a single microphone and a vintage monophonic tape machine, and performing in historically important settings, including the Sun Studio in Memphis (where [[Performer~P107032~Elvis Presley~elvispresley]] cut his earliest sessions), Room 414 of San Antonio's Gunter Hotel (where [[Performer~P96222~Robert Johnson~robertjohnson]] recorded several classic blues tunes), and the First African Baptist Church in Savannah (the first church in North America established by an African-American congregation). As [[Performer~P102433~Mellencamp~johnmellencamp]] and his band set out on their adventure, he invited along photographer [[Performer~P684251~Kurt Markus~kurtmarkus]], who brought his teenage son [[Performer~P684252~Ian Markus~ianmarkus]] with him. [[Performer~P684251~Kurt~kurtmarkus]] and [[Performer~P684252~Ian~ianmarkus]] documented the tour and the recording sessions on Super 8 film, and the resulting movie It's About You offers a look into the creative process of one of America's most celebrated rock songwriters, as well as a journey that allows a father and son to understand one another in a new way. It's About You received its world premiere at the 2011 South by Southwest Film Festival. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:January 4, 2012

Crew

John Mellencamp
Featured Music
Advertisement