Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Jiminy Glick in La La Wood Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The world's most obnoxious celebrity talk-show host demonstrates how he rose to mediocrity in this pungent show business satire. Jiminy Glick ([[Performer~P65439~Martin Short~martinshort]]) is a corpulent entertainment reporter who is looking to kick his career into high gear. Hoping to snag some celebrity interviews, Jiminy and his wife, Dixie ([[Performer~P33135~Jan Hooks~janhooks]]), head north of the border to Canada, where Jiminy will attend the Toronto Film Festival. At first, Glick's attempts to ingratiate himself with stars and semi-stars are little short of disastrous, but after the easily star-struck reporter allows egocentric filmmaker Ben DiCarlo ([[Performer~P296455~Corey Pearson~coreypearson]]) to shamelessly self-promote his latest project on air, word gets around that Glick is an "easy interview," and his star begins to rise. However, Jiminy's good fortune is tempered by his unwitting involvement in a murder plot centered around booze-addled actress Miranda Coolidge ([[Performer~P56069~Elizabeth Perkins~elizabethperkins]]) and her wildly pretentious husband, Andre Devine ([[Performer~P230480~John Michael Higgins~johnmichaelhiggins]]). Somewhere along the way, filmmaker [[Performer~P100454~David Lynch~davidlynch]] (played by [[Performer~P65439~Short~martinshort]]) happens along, offering his theories on the controversial murder of [[Performer~P72175~Lana Turner~lanaturner]]'s paramour Johnny Stompanato. A large number of Hollywood celebrities make cameo appearances in Jiminy Glick in La La Wood, including [[Performer~P101485~Steve Martin~stevemartin]], [[Performer~P38699~Kevin Kline~kevinkline]], [[Performer~P63158~Susan Sarandon~susansarandon]], [[Performer~P27431~Whoopi Goldberg~whoopigoldberg]], [[Performer~P116578~Forest Whitaker~forestwhitaker]], [[Performer~P69200~Kiefer Sutherland~kiefersutherland]], and [[Performer~P68496~Sharon Stone~sharonstone]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:May 6, 2005

Cast

Martin Short
as Jiminy Glick/David Lynch
Jan Hooks
as Dixie Glick
Linda Cardellini
as Natalie Coolidge
Janeane Garofalo
as Dee Dee
John Michael Higgins
as Andre Devine
Elizabeth Perkins
as Miranda Coolidge
Larry Joe Campbell
as Haygood Lewkin
Mo Collins
as Sharon
DeRay Davis
as Mario "Fa Real" Greene
Carlos Jacott
as Barry King
Corey Pearson
as Ben DiCarlo
Aries Spears
as Gunnar "MC Gun" Jorge
Robert Trebor
as Jay Schiffer
Gary Anthony Williams
as Randall "Big Phallus" Bookerton

Crew

Vadim Jean
Director
Martin Short
Producer
Peter Safran
Producer
Paul Brooks
Producer
Bernie Brillstein
Producer
Paul Flaherty
Screenwriter
Michael Short
Screenwriter
Martin Short
Screenwriter
Mike Fox
Cinematographer
Matt Davis
Editor
Tony Devenyi
Production Designer
Norm Waitt
Executive Producer
Scott Niemeyer
Executive Producer
Lorraine Carson
Costume Designer
Richard Coleman
First Assistant Director
Kristina Vogel
Makeup
Advertisement