Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Jason and the Argonauts Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Greek mythology is done up brown by the special-effects expertise of [[Performer~P93588~Ray Harryhausen~rayharryhausen]] in Jason and the Argonauts. Jason ([[Performer~P2304~Todd Armstrong~toddarmstrong]]), rightful heir to the throne of Thessaly, is spared from death through the intervention of the goddess Hera ([[Performer~P6466~Honor Blackman~honorblackman]]). The other celestial inhabitants of Mount Olympus watch in amusement as Hera surreptitiously aids Jason in his search for the Golden Fleece. Obstacles to this goal include a giant come-to-life statue named Talos, the screeching harpies plaguing blind prophet Phineas ([[Performer~P71859~Patrick Troughton~patricktroughton]]), a set of huge clashing rocks, the seven-headed hydra, and an army of skeletons (this bravura climactic sequence assured [[Performer~P93588~Harryhausen~rayharryhausen]]'s place in the hearts of 13-year-old boys of all ages). Supporting characters include [[Performer~P39204~Nancy Kovack~nancykovack]] as a pre-infanticide Medea and [[Performer~P92442~Nigel Green~nigelgreen]] as a pacifistic Hercules. [[Performer~P94132~Bernard Herrmann~bernardherrmann]]'s surging musical score was icing on the cake for this greatest of all [[Performer~P93588~Ray Harryhausen~rayharryhausen]] creations. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:June 19, 1963

Cast

Nancy Kovack
as Medea
Gary Raymond
as Acoustus
Laurence Naismith
as Argus
Niall MacGinnis
as Zeus
Michael Gwynn
as Hermes
Douglas Wilmer
as Pelias
Honor Blackman
as Hera
John Cairney
as Hylas
Patrick Troughton
as Phineas
Andrew Faulds
as Phalerus
Nigel Green
as Hercules
John Crawford
as Polydeuces
Nando Poggi
as Castor
Jack Gwyllim
as King Aeetes

Crew

Don Chaffey
Director
Charles H. Schneer
Producer
Jan Read
Screenwriter
Beverley Cross
Screenwriter
Wilkie Cooper
Cinematographer
Bernard Herrmann
Composer (Music Score)
Bernard Herrmann
Musical Direction/Supervision
Mario Nascimbene
Musical Direction/Supervision
Maurice Rootes
Editor
Geoffrey Drake
Production Designer
Toni Sarzi-Braga
Art Director
Jack Maxsted
Art Director
Ray Harryhausen
Associate Producer
Red Law
Sound/Sound Designer
Syd Pearson
Special Effects
Ray Harryhausen
Special Effects
John Dark
Production Manager
Advertisement