Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Japanese Story Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Following their feature debut, [[Feature~V158623~Road to Nhill~roadtonhill]], in 1997, screenwriter [[Performer~P231880~Alison Tilson~alisontilson]] and director [[Performer~P231089~Sue Brooks~suebrooks]] team up again for the Australian drama Japanese Story. [[Performer~P14165~Toni Collette~tonicollette]] stars as Sandy Edwards, an ambitious geologist who is most comfortable when working alone. She also runs a software design company with a business partner, Bill Baird ([[Performer~P225838~Matthew Dyktynski~matthewdyktynski]]), and she doesn't get along very well with her mother ([[Performer~P16233~Lynette Curran~lynettecurran]]). While trying to sell their software products, Bill asks for her help in catching a prospective client. Sandy reluctantly meets the quiet and reserved Japanese businessman Hiromitsu ([[Performer~P363003~Gotaro Tsunashima~gotarotsunashima]]) in order to make a sale. After he requests that she take him on a driving tour, the odd couple find themselves stranded in the Pilbara desert for a night -- one of the most remote places in the Australian outback. During this time together, their relationship quickly escalates and both parties are changed by the experience. Japanese Story premiered at the 2003 Cannes Film Festival. ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

  • Release date:May 19, 2003

Cast

Toni Collette
as Sandy Edwards
Gotaro Tsunashima
as Tachibana Hiromitsu
Matthew Dyktynski
as Bill Baird
Lynette Curran
as Mother
Yumiko Tanaka
as Yukiko
Kate Atkinson
as Jackie
John Howard
as Richards
Bill Young
as Jimmy Smithers
Reg Evans
as Bloke in Row Boat
George Shevtsov
as James
Justine Clarke
as Jane

Crew

Sue Brooks
Director
Sue Maslin
Producer
Alison Tilson
Screenwriter
Ian Baker
Cinematographer
Elizabeth Drake
Composer (Music Score)
Jill Bilcock
Editor
Paddy Reardon
Production Designer
Kelvin Sexton
Art Director
Margot Wilson
Costume Designer
Rachel Evans
First Assistant Director
Dina Mann
Casting
David Lightfoot
Line Producer
Advertisement