Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Jane Eyre Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P316202~Charlotte Brontë~charlottebrontë]]'s classic romance is revived once again with this Ruby Films production directed by [[Performer~P432545~Cary Fukunaga~caryjojifukunaga]] ([[Feature~V434091~Sin Nombre~sinnombre]]) and adapted by screenwriter [[Performer~P581885~Moira Buffini~moirabuffini]]. Raised by her aunt Sarah ([[Performer~P319906~Sally Hawkins~sallyhawkins]]) after her parents die of typhus, young Jane Eyre ([[Performer~P682105~Amelia Clarkson~ameliaclarkson]]) is later shipped off to a stark boarding school as the result of her perceived insolence, and suffers greatly at the hands of the cold, unusually strict administration. Upon turning 18 and completing her education, Jane ([[Performer~P476869~Mia Wasikowska~miawasikowska]]) finds work as a governess for Adèle Varens ([[Performer~P682108~Romy Settbon Moore~romysettbonmoore]]), the ward of Edward Fairfax Rochester ([[Performer~P397825~Michael Fassbender~michaelfassbender]]), master of Thornfield Hall. It doesn't take long for the young Adèle to warm to Jane, and upon returning home the charming Rochester, too, falls under the spell of his modest yet captivating governess. Later, he ends his courtship with the beautiful Blanche Ingram ([[Performer~P463555~Imogen Poots~imogenpoots]]) in favor of proposing to Jane, who excitedly accepts. On what was supposed to be the happiest day of Jane's life, however, a scandalous secret is revealed, and the emotionally shattered governess takes flight. Subsequently taken in by kindly clergyman St. John ([[Performer~P279767~Jamie Bell~jamiebell]]) and his two sisters, Jane begins a new life as a teacher under an assumed name. But her passion for Rochester still burns bright, prompting Jane to make a life-altering decision after learning a crucial secret about her own family. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:March 11, 2011

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
National Board of Review Michael Fassbender Spotlight Award 2011 Winner
L.A. Film Critics Association Michael Fassbender Best Actor 2011 Winner
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Michael O'Connor Best Costume Design 2011 Nominee
Broadcast Film Critics Association Michael O'Connor Best Costume Design 2011 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Michael O'Connor Best Costume Design 2011 Nominee

Cast

Mia Wasikowska
as Jane Eyre
Michael Fassbender
as Edward Rochester
Jamie Bell
as St. John Rivers
Judi Dench
as Mrs. Fairfax
Sally Hawkins
as Mrs. Reed
Tamzin Merchant
as Mary Rivers
Imogen Poots
as Blanche Ingram
Craig Roberts
as John Reed
Lizzie Hopley
as Miss Abbot
Jayne Wisener
as Bessie
Freya Wilson
as Eliza Reed
Simon McBurney
as Mr. Brocklehurst
Sandy McDade
as Miss Scatcherd
Freya Parks
as Helen Burns
Sally Reeve
as Martha
Eglantine Rembauville
as Sophie
Rosie Cavaliero
as Grace Poole
Angela Curran
as Undercook
Sophie Ward
as Lady Ingram
Joe Van Moyland
as Lord Ingram
Laura Phillips
as Mrs. Dent
Ned Dennehy
as Dr. Carter
Joseph Kloska
as Clergyman Wood
Ben Roberts
as Briggs
Valentina Cervi
as Bertha Mason

Crew

Cary Joji Fukunaga
Director
Alison Owen
Producer
Paul Trijbits
Producer
Adriano Goldman
Cinematographer
Dario Marianelli
Composer (Music Score)
Dario Marianelli
Featured Music
Will Hughes-Jones
Production Designer
Faye Ward
Co-producer
Mairi Bett
Co-producer
Hannah Farrell
Associate Producer
Christine Langan
Executive Producer
Peter Hampden
Executive Producer
Tina Jones
Set Decorator
Michael O'Connor
Costume Designer
Nina Gold
Casting
Laurie Sparham
Still Photographer
Loulia Sheppard
Hair Styles
Sylvia Parker
Script Supervisor
Michael Solinger
Post Production Supervisor
Tapio Salmi
Hair Styles
Tapio Salmi
Makeup
Georgina Gunner
Costumes Supervisor
Frank Henson
Stunts Coordinator
Robert Farr
Re-Recording Mixer
Giles Edleston
Location Manager
Advertisement