Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Jack the Giant Killer Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P94197~Nathan Juran~nathanjuran]], director of [[Feature~V43875~The Seventh Voyage of Sinbad~the7thvoyageofsinbad]], tries to make the magic happen again on a much more attenuated budget in Jack the Giant Killer. [[Performer~P70440~Torin Thatcher~torinthatcher]], another Sinbad alumnus, plays a wicked wizard who kidnaps toothsome-princess [[Performer~P48528~Judi Meredith~judimeredith]]. [[Performer~P46389~Kerwin Mathews~kerwinmathews]], still another veteran of Sinbad, plays Jack, who rescues Meredith and promises to escort her to safety. Stop-motion animator [[Performer~P159556~Jim Danforth~jimdanforth]] creates several fire-breathing perils along the same lines as [[Performer~P93588~Ray Harryhausen~rayharryhausen]]'s special effects in Sinbad; happily, [[Performer~P159556~Danforth~jimdanforth]] emulates the [[Performer~P93588~Harryhausen~rayharryhausen]] style without stooping to imitation. Prominent among the supporting actors is [[Performer~P4927~Don Beddoe~donbeddoe]] as an impish genie. In the recently reissued prints of Jack the Giant Killer, most of the original voices have been dubbed over, and incongruous musical numbers added. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:June 13, 1962

Cast

Kerwin Mathews
as Jack
Judi Meredith
as Princess Elaine
Torin Thatcher
as Pendragon
Dayton Lummis
as King Mark
Barry Kelley
as Sigurd
Robert Gist
as Capt. McFadden
Tudor Owen
as Chancellor
Roger Mobley
as Peter
Anna Lee
as Lady Constance
Walter Burke
as Garna
Don Beddoe
as Imp in Bottle
Helen Wallace
as Jack's Mother

Crew

Nathan Juran
Director
Edward Small
Producer
Orville H. Hampton
Screenwriter
Nathan Juran
Screenwriter
David S. Horsley
Cinematographer
Paul Sawtell
Composer (Music Score)
Bert Shefter
Composer (Music Score)
Grant Whytock
Editor
Frank McCoy
Art Director
Fernando Carrere
Art Director
David Berman
Costume Designer
Jim Danforth
Special Effects
Charles Gemora
Makeup
Advertisement